NVIDIA Fermi: Architecture discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Rys, Sep 30, 2009.

  1. air_ii

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    EVGA rig has the same, 3 sets of PEG powercables (2x8 1x6) running to each of the geforces.

    [​IMG]
    The top one has it most clear, it's a double set of cables going in the PEG8 power socket.

    Powersupply for the Maingear systems seems to be a Silverstone Industrial/Workstation ZEUS 1200W according to the interviews. Ah well, must be something we've been missing...
     
    #3242 neliz, Jan 9, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2010
  3. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    No full-cover blocks? Probably that's the reason for the system lock-up during the rocket sled demo -- the only water-cooled part was the GPU.
     
  4. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    But all three have double wires on the 8-pin...one should have only one unless they only had a 4x cable.
     
  5. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
  6. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Here's a question:

    Okay, let's say Fermi is 5870 fast and no more. With the added physics would it also be 5870 + 8800GTS for PhysX fast?
     
  7. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Three PEGs? That's a whole lot of power for a chip whose power consumption "isn't much more than a GTX280".
     
    #3247 Albuquerque, Jan 9, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2010
  8. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    What do you mean? Would enabling PhysX suddenly create more breathing room on the GPU?

    Remember the old Mantra: "it's smaller than GT200 and it will be here by Christmas, Charlie is a liar!"
     
  9. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    No, of course not. I'm talking about getting the equivalent of a 5870 + a good PhysX card on one card as a way for NV to position the card. Right now you have to have a second card and hacked drivers to run PhysX on Cypress. Also (and I don't know) does PhysX lower framerates on a 285 when enabled or does it come free?

    Edit: Oh, and I like the sig change :)
     
  10. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    oregon
    that PSU only has 6XPCI-e connectors; 4 x 6-Pin,2 x 8/6-Pin(only 17a per rail too,hello lock up...)so they must have Molex converters to finish it out, or a custom PSU... If they are 6+8pin cards, as the pic shows?
     
  11. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    PhysX cuts your framerate, anywhere from 30 to 50% depending on the game and card, or in the case of a non-nv GPU, by 80%.
    I'm sure there will be some sites too afraid to tick of NV and follow the reviewers guide stipulating the use of AA and PhysX in B:AA, but there'll never be a review where they hook a GT240 up to Cypress to give it some legroom.

    edit: And on the sig, that's the goal, I'm not sure if that goal is the "GTX512" though. defo not OVER 9000!
    edit2: Tom Petersen's Rig Also has the dual 8p cables on both cards. and the 6p below it.
     
    #3251 neliz, Jan 9, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2010
  12. karlotta

    karlotta pifft
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    oregon
    hmm, could this particular power arrangement be a result of the cards being A2, and A3 will have typical 2x3/4, 6 and 8pin?
     
  13. mapel110

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    As far as I understood the whole discussion here, there won't be much difference between A2 and A3. A3 was just something to kill time. Waiting for TSMC to improve yields.
     
  14. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    So there you have it. Fermi is faster per clock than Cypress (but can't clock as high owing to power) and beats it handily with PhysX enabled unless you have another card for PhysX (and hacked drivers).

    Edit: which is pretty darn good if PhysX takes off and, engineering-wise, pretty nifty.
     
  15. ChrisRay

    ChrisRay <span style="color: rgb(124, 197, 0)">R.I.P. 1983-
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    26
    Im sorry but where di this come from? Did I miss something?
     
  16. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    My interpretation of the last 3-4 pages of posts and between the lines hints. Admittedly just a guess, but jibes with an awful lot of tidbits from people not of the fb persuasion.
     
  17. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    I may take a zip or too from my newborn's bottle but that would hardly affect my soberness :lol:

    Pre-release for any GPU is always silly season. It wasn't that hard to follow up from where I've left this thread. I simply ignore the majority of the posts and managed to read something like 5 pages in a couple of minutes.
     
  18. PSU-failure

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know how you could compare Cypress and Fermi clock for clock, the former only has one frequency domain, the latter has 2...

    Sure, Fermi with 850MHz ROP domain and 1700MHz hot clock would be very competitive, but it simply is unrealistic and has nothing to do with reality.

    ATM, we don't know where Cypress bottlenecks are, but Fermi has at least one too, we must wait to see where they are and whether or not they will hinder each GPU in game shaders processing.
     
  19. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    Albeit not directly comparable I can see Cypress yielding under 40nm the exact same 4890 frequency under 55nm (with over twice the complexity). Now give me one good reason why a GF100 with 3.08B transistors under 40nm would easily yield something like 850/1870 (given a rough 2.2x ALU:TMU ratio), when the GT200b with 1.4B transistors under 55nm was still at 650/1470?

    IMO NV should be happy if they can reach with a reasonable power consumption the GT200b frequencies for a full 16 cluster GF100.

    In other words there are no reasonable indications that 40G allows for over twice the chip complexity and far higher frequencies than 55nm. Anything beyond that are simply unrealistic expectations; especially with a problematic process like 40G.
     
  20. PSU-failure

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, but since I'm quite pragmatic I just say it would be that way, so not really clock for clock. At these clocks it would probably eat somewhere around 400watt... :shock:

    From the beginning of the story and based on previous NV designs, I was planning on 65nm GT200 like frequencies, they announced a respectable 1400MHz hot clock for Tesla 2 so all didn't go wrong, though power draw is already over GTX285 level (225watt max board power & 190watt avg power) whereas Tesla 1060 was given a 190watt max board power, and that's with a disabled cluster.

    I really don't know why some still think Tesla owns some magic allowing it to be way more efficient than GT200, and given the scaling Cypress is capable of and DX11 evolutions it's obvious they could have had a hard time catching up, Stephane at PCW.fr saying it's hot tend to confirm this (and I trust him more than Fuad although now he's saying it's noisy...), just like the insistence on not showing any result.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...