nVidia control panel is a f**king mess...

nVidia control panel is a mess...

Yeah I'm starting to be annoyed about this. I started playing Starcraft 1 week or so ago while I still had the AMD 6970 and after little bit of tweaking with the scaling options I managed to run the game in proper form. Previously for some reason it cut quite a bit of stuff from each side of the screen. Now I'm almost done with the Terran campaign and got my GTX 570 oc back.

Now when I run the game it cuts stuff from all sides again. 640*480 seems to be a mess on these cards. Solving this however didn't turn out to be that easy... First of all I go to control panel only to notice that for some unholy reason the scaling options aren't there. Found out that apparently the control panel thinks I'm connected into a TV instead of a monitor and that apparently is a good reason to disable scaling options? I managed to fool the control panel by creating a custom resolution that is exactly the same I was using before, but now having this custom res the scaling options are available. Chanting victory I start the game again, only to notice that nothing has changed!

For some retarded reason it seems that scaling doesn't work when the app uses 640*480 resolution...
Then I read somewhere that I should create other custom resolutions for this game, doubting it would make any difference, but I want to finish the game.

nVidias drivers have been buggy in this regard for a long time. I cannot create 640*480 or 854*480 resolutions for example, well I can and they test just fine, but after I press save these settings the screen switches back to 1080p. It doesn't list these new custom resolutions when I go to the change resolution page.

Spent some time on nVidias forums and they are now promising to fix these issues, but they have existed very long time already.