Need some help with math

Sonic

Veteran
I have an equation here that I'm having trouble with. I'm not really good with math but what I basically need is the answer for "x".

Any help is greatly appreciated. Here is the equation

√ 3 - 3x = 5 + √ 3x + 2

This actually for a friend who is having a bit of trouble. He came up with 18 but I have no clue if that is correct or not. If anyone could help that'd be real cool.

Is the "√ 3x" either:

1) sqrt(3*x)
or
2) sqrt(3)*x

edit: either way, how did he get 18 (?!) , unless I'm misreading something...

edit2: Assuming 2) the answer I derived is -1.11325. Obviously, I would double check that.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm fairly positive. I'll let you know once I see the guy in about 20 minutes. I guess it would be a safe bet just to do this on the safe side.

The seems to be no answer for
Code:
 sqrt(3) - 3*x = 5 + sqrt(3 * x) +2
in the space of real numbers. :???:

edit: I tried Xenus' recommendation as well, and again, I derived an imaginary result. Has your friend's class gone over the complex number space yet?

Square root of "3-3x" = 5 + square root of "3x + 2"

I'm not sure how to put the sruare root sign over each equation, but if anyone can make that in math form it will be helpful.

Also, if it is bogus then that explains why he is having such a hard time with it.

I got x = -8 but I might have done some "fuzzy math" when I tried to use FOIL to square the quantites.

sqrt(3 - 3x) = 5 + sqrt(3x + 2)

3x + 3x + 3 = 25 + 3x + 6x +2

6x + 3 = 25 + 9x + 2

-3x = 24

x = -8

(3-3x)^(1/2) = 5 + (3x+2)^(1/2)
remove the square root by squaring the entire eq.:

3-3x = 25 + 3x+2

group x's and the integers:
3x+3x = 3 - 25 -2
6x = -24
x = -4

Um, the square of 5 + (3x+2)^0.5 is 25 + 10 * sqrt(3x+2) + (3x+2), not 25 + (3x+2)

(a+b)^2 = a^2 + 2*a*b + b^2
(a+b)^2 != a^2 + b^2

I looked a at it that way but it didn't seem right to me.

because