Need Advice from Architects (ryzen build)

Discussion in 'PC Purchasing Help' started by Davros, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Looks good. There fan must be quite loud at that speed.
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    yes it is, no more thermal paste so it's going to have to stay on for now I think I will still get an aio though when I have the cash
    I have a tube of paste somewhere but I bought it in 2007 so I think it's past it's sell by date ;)

    ps: when I bought my stuff they had some expensive air coolers on display, my god they are huge think of a house brick with heatpipes.
    pps: my case could really do with at least 2 more fans
    more p's and an s : when idle my intel i5 used to drop it's multiplier from 31 to 16 I've never seen the ryzen go below a 35 multiplier
     
    #22 Davros, Jan 31, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2020
  3. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    dav, you added thermal paste to the Heatsink?

    on my Ryzen 5 2600, it use pre-applied thermal tape on the base of the heatsink. The fan is never audible even when im rendering a video, using all cores. My ryzen do have lower clock than yours tho.

    hmm, maybe i can overclock my ryzen to your clock...
     
  4. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    holy flying mackerel!!!

    thanks to @Davros talk about fan noise, I checked my fan it only spin to 3000RPM max, even with 400MHz OC. Looking at the temp
    CPU reports 85C, Motherboard reports the CPU is 60C.

    o_O

    and MSI tied the CPU fan to motherboard CPU temp sensor instead of CPU temp sensor in the CPU itself. As a workaround, i'm changing the fan curve.
     
  5. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    change the windows 10 power profile to BALANCED via the legacy control panel. Or manually change the minimum clock to 5% on the legacy power control panel.
     
  6. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    I used the paste that was pre applied
    ps: does your hsf have a low high switch ?
    I had it set to ryzen power save, changed it to balanced
     
  7. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    I don't see any switch. Where exactly is it?

    Btw the power option will keep reverting almost after any windows 10 update.
     
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
  9. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Oh my God. That looks to be pretty hard to reach. I'll try to look for it
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Dont you have a 2600 that comes with a wraith stealth cooler i've looked at a lot of pics of it on google images and havn't seen a switch
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  11. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    oh, thanks! you saved me from opening the PC case and moving the tentacles... erm... i mean... the cables.

    so i guess, 3000RPM is my max fan speed.
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Do you need more ?
    mine maxes out at 3,650 rpm
     
  13. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    When I OC it to 3.8GHz it goes to 85c in less than a minute.

    Its okay tho with default clocks.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    If your going to o/c you really need a 3rd party cooler or an aio but knowing your history i'd avoid aio's
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Little rant about aio's (looking at you corsair)
    At some point in time corsair were designing an aio and the lead engineer said "As you know cpu's are square very occasionally rectangular but never ever round so bearing that in mind what shape shall we make the contact plate of our latest aio"
    At this point some assclown put his hand up and said "I know lets make it round"
    why was he not immediately beaten to death ?
    [​IMG]
    Corsair on the right
     
  16. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The heat spreader is a large square, however the actual CPU underneath is usually much smaller and where the focus of the heat is.
     
    entity279 likes this.
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Id still rather have a square contact plate for a square heatspreader.
    meanwhile at noctua someone put up their hand and said "I know what colour pc builders really want their fans to be, beige and brown thats the colour pc users are clamouring for"
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,449
    Likes Received:
    3,471
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Just because the spreader is a square? The most efficient method of applying paste is a small blob in the middle and let the pressure push it out, which makes a circle. Also, heat doesn't spread out from the CPU underneath in a square shape...
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,508
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    Let me tell you why I disagree
    Forgive my lack of artistic skills
    Imagine this is a heatspreader under a microscope
    the black star just represents the centre where your blob of paste would be
    the red represents a raised area
    the grey represents an area that would not have paste on it using your method
    [​IMG]

    ps: imagine this is a magnified cross section of a heatspreader
    imagine the contact pad is perfect and in A it would lie directly on top of the green and the black in B
    (forgot to draw it in)
    green represents thermal paste
    most people think A is best but it's actually B the best thermal conductivity happens between metal and metal not metal-thermal paste-metal
    but metal-thermal paste-metal is superior to metal-air-metal
    [​IMG]
     
    #39 Davros, Feb 1, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2020
  20. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,882
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    If the circular heatsink and thermaltape are bigger than the heatspreader, isn't it will give similar thermal performance to square heatsink with square thermaltape? Assuming everything else are similar enough (similar fan speed, similar material, etc)

    The circular one will simply have unused thermal tape on it's four sides
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...