Intel "Ice Lake" (10 nm)

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by iMacmatician, Jul 13, 2015.

Tags:
  1. mfaisalkemal

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    24
    [​IMG]
    with slide above i think more reasonable to illustrate intel 10nm cpu area scaling.

    anandtech made manual counting for 10nm cannon lake(intel will launch laptop first) die size around 70.5mm2. refer to dual core broadwell with 15.85 Mtr/mm2(82mm2 and 1.3billion transistors), intel 10nm will have 36.86mm2( 70.5mm2 and 2.59billion transistors).

    with almost 2 times more transistor i think no doubt 4-core and graphics improvement still a question how good intel gen10.
     
    #21 mfaisalkemal, Nov 22, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
    Lightman likes this.
  2. Dayman1225

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    76
    [​IMG]

    Was included in HWInfo update
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    4,315
  4. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    15,736
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    There was an update to the article.

    So, it depends on whether you believe SA or Intel.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Lightman likes this.
  5. Laurent06

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    33
    They could both be true: Intel might just relax 10nm constraints and still call it 10nm.
     
  6. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Or get this node finally working, then rename the optimized '10nm+' node to '7 nm'.
     
    hoom and iMacmatician like this.
  7. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Or rename "10nm+" to "10nm" and simply claim future Cannon Lake SKUs are cancelled to give way to Ice Lake.
     
    DmitryKo likes this.
  8. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    Romania
    To avoid lawsuits (or to simply be on the safe side) prolly Intel has to keep the name of their first ("7nm class") 10nm process "10 nm" . Same for the Cannonlake name. Internally, these products may be of course changed to something completly different

    It would avoid/simplify some discussions/explanations to shareholders. And why not, to their customers as well.
    It will thus only be a question of launch date, availability and of course performance :)
     
  9. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    110
    Cannlonlake won't be changed to something else, I don't think that would make sense. I mean, after all it's already in "mass production" and shipping - it even works, sort of... So pretty sure it will remain what it is, and there won't be any other Cannonlake SKUs, it has fulfilled its purpose.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  10. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    409
    Location:
    Romania
    I agree, it won't.

    I was mearly mentioning it due to the post above, which suggested it's outright cancellation.

    Anyway CannonLake could be sorta exiting due to AVX-512 for the masses (less ISA fragmentation). With some decent clockspeed, it's welcome

    LE : Oh you said no other SKUs, sry. I thought there would be some more
     
  11. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    15,736
    Likes Received:
    4,658
    Nice, adaptive sync looks like it's finally coming to Intel.

    That means no more need to be limited to G-sync with an NV GPU if you have an Intel CPU that supports Adaptive Sync. Wonder if NV will finally pull the stick out of its backside and support it?

    Regards,
    SB
     
    milk likes this.
  12. Esrever

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    298
    More likely nvidia will disable your discrete GPU if you try to use it like they did for using a nvidia card for physx with an AMD GPU.
     
    Silent_Buddha and ToTTenTranz like this.
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    So Cannon Lake is gone, together with its specific 10nm implementation.

    Looks like semiaccurate was semi-accurate.
     
  14. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    #35 DmitryKo, Dec 21, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2018
  15. liolio

    liolio Aquoiboniste
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Stateless
    At this point I don't get why Intel does not match the CPU name and the number of core.
    They can't figth AMD 4 cores with 2 cores aymore.

    Having three cores in their lower end CPU would also opens more performant option for their not so sexy pentium line (living atom derivatives aside).
    Then 5, 7 and 9 cores.

    They have to go away from their dual cores line ad they can afford not to jump to quad straight ahead.
     
  16. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    4,315
    Intel has little to worry about in the Y and U series market. As long as AMD doesn't support LPDDR in their APUs they just won't get any traction in low-power mobile applications.
     
    Lightman likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...