HTML Form processing script

John Reynolds

Ecce homo
Veteran
The new boss wants an anonymous feedback form and I'm looking for a script to to dump the fields of a very simple html form to a local network drive. The html code is going to be very simple, and this I can handle; unfortunately, I'm no programmer, so I'm lost as to how to dump the answers into a file that can be opened by a Windows user. I just want clean, easily read text. . .not sure if I want it to append to the same file or not.

I'm assuming a Perl CGI script is what's needed, but I've no idea how to write it or integrate with my form page. Any help/suggestions/schooling would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Edit: The html files are simply accessed via a shared network drive. We're not running a web server.

Last edited by a moderator:
Doing it without running a webserver makes it very difficult! It would be trivial with a webserver running a scripting language like PHP or ASP. Without a webserver you can't really do CGI at all. The only way I can think is to use a client-side scripting language like VBScript which can write to files etc. (I'm presuming you are working on Windows platform). To that end I've written you a quick example form and VBScript function that will process the data and write it to a file (if the file doesn't exist it will create it).
Code:
<html>
	<head>
		<title>Test Form Submission</title>
	</head>
<body>

<script language="VBScript">
	<!--
	Sub SubmitForm

Dim item, strFilePath
		Dim objFSO, myFile
		Dim TheForm
		Const ForAppending = 8

strFilePath = "C:\results.txt"
		Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")

If NOT objFSO.FileExists(strFilePath) Then
			objFSO.CreateTextFile(strFilePath)
		End If

Set myFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile (strFilePath, ForAppending, True)

myFile.WriteLine("Form submitted at " & now())

Set TheForm = Document.forms("myform")

For Each item In TheForm
	  		If item.name <> "submitter" Then