Getting poor results on my system.

TheWallace21

Newcomer
I am running a P4 2.8Ghz on a Asus P4P800, with 1gb of Kingston DDR400 RAM. I am using an ATI Raedon9800Pro with 128mb of onboard RAM. All of my sound and video drivers are up to date. I figured that this system would play everything out there right now really smooth, but I notice a lot of jerkiness in pretty much every game I play, even with the framerate locked in at 60fps. For some reason, I am also getting really low scores in both 3DMark 01 and 03, with 6500 and 3200 respectively. From what I understand, these scores should be much higher. I was wondering if anybody out there might have some kind of idea why I am getting these kind of results. Also, if I posted this in the wrong board, please feel free to move it to where it belongs. Im still kinda new at this.

I usually run AdAware around twice a week, usually clearing out the same batch of cookies over and over again. I was wondering, would a virus scanner have a drastic effect on game performance. On the system resources monitor, I usually never go above 1% of CPU usage.

Me thinks it might be a good idea to turn off my virus scanner and give it another go.

I installed the main set of motherboard drivers when I first put this system together. I didn't think I had to install the AGP drivers as I am using an Intel chipset. I think they were called the GART drivers. I will have to check the CD again.

For starters

1. Does SmartGART show that you're running in AGP mode? If not, then it's likely MB AGP drivers are at fault--reinstall them.

2. Did you force AA and AF on via the control panel by mistake? Turn them off (Application Preference) when benchmarking.