Domain Registration and Website Hosting

Skrying

S K R Y I N G
Veteran
I have no experience in such things, so I'm looking for some place to register a domain name, and possibly also a site hosting service. Cheap is great, but I'm also looking for quality here.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

What are you going to do with the site? That will help a lot. My general comments:

Domain Registration. I have used Network Solutions, Register.com, 000Domains.com, and Godaddy. When I worked in the hosting industry we were a Register.com partner and frequently did domain transfers. The services are all pretty comparable, but the prices are not. I have ~20 domains with Godaddy now, and outside their horrible commercials they have a solid service. They are less than $10 a year and have auto-renewal and other basic features. Privacy if you want it as well. Note: you will want to use an email address than 1) you will always have access to and 2) don't mind getting spam at for domain registration and search engine submission. These two acts bring forth a flood gate of spam.

Always register your domain yourself; don't let a host do it. I have heard dozens of horror stories (many first hand by techs who got the angry calls) of hosting companies holding their domains hostage when they wanted to transfer. This is not typical (but read the fine print!), but you always want to be in control of your domain. Same goes for not letting a web designer register the domain in their name.

Hosting. This is tougher. 99% of the review sites are unreliable because they cherry pick the referral programs (some pay over $100 per new account... all done through cookies and special links) and refer services that mean money for them. So they are all but useless.