Direct3D feature levels discussion

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by DmitryKo, Feb 20, 2015.

  1. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    Ah that makes sense; I should have researched a little harder and not taken the documents at face value. I'm just going to point out again that Direct3D 10 required little research... :smile: Also it's somewhat amusing (or sad...) that even Microsoft has trouble with these feature levels. :-D
     
  2. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
  3. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    [​IMG]

    It's actually four levels 11_0, 11_1, 12_0 and 12_1 with a few options that span all levels (?) - namely, resource binding 3 tiers, tiled resource 3 tiers, conservative rasterization 3 tiers, typed UAV 2 tiers (?), and rasterizer ordered view - and in a D3D11 recap, some mandatory features on level 11_1 should be also optional on level 11_0 to make Fermi/Kepler owners happy.

    BTW, back in February someone at Anandforums asserted that tiled resources are removed from Direct3D 12 since all resources are exposed through dynamic heaps...
     
  4. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Resource Binding, 6:40-9:30

    At 9:05, Max talks about current market share for various RB tiers. I bothered to actually get Feb'15 Steam Survey stats into a spreadsheet, and assuming that
    1. Intel Haswell/Broadwell and Nvidia Fermi are Tier 1,
    2. NVidia Kepler/Maxwell are Tier 2,
    3. AMD GCN 1.x is Tier 3,
    the numbers turn out exactly the same 39%, 44%, 17%.
     

    Attached Files:

    #24 DmitryKo, Mar 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2015
    liquidboy, iroboto, Nemo and 2 others like this.
  5. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Is there a summary somewhere that confirms which chips support which feature levels under D3D12?
     
  6. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    No, my current guess: GCN 1.1/1.2 = 12_0 and Maxwell 2 = 12_1.
     
  7. superjoeyprof

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    In Tier 2 64 is the max UAVs in all stage. But Kepler and Maxwellv1 only support 8. I'm confused.
     
  8. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    Do we actually know this for sure (I can't remember)? Or was it merely implied because the cards were 11_0?
     
  9. superjoeyprof

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    As far as I remember they wrote me years ago, that Kepler and Fermi support UAVs in the vertex, geometry, hull and domain shaders, but not support larger number of UAVs. So if the hardware don't get smarter that I think this feature still not supported. That's why I'm confused.
     
  10. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Yep - seems to correspond with 48 MAX_COMBINED_IMAGE_UNIFORMS and 8 for each stage on latest 347.52 drivers (ARB/shader_image_load_store).

    They actually said Kepler does not support UAVs at all stages... though it seems like they just couldn't make Microsoft implement this as a option for level 11_0.
     
  11. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Apparently NVIDIA didn't enable UAVs at all stages because they don't support enough UAVs to meet the D3D spec (64 I believe). It is likely that devs can go through some sort of NVIDIA proprietary API to access UAVs at all stages (with limitations of course), just not in D3D. Though that is pure speculation.

    Does anyone know if Maxwell v2 (e.g. GM204) shares this limitation?
     
  12. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    There was I slide posted on here with that information, but it was removed shortly after being posted. I happened to save it, but don't know if I should post it, since it and the entire post was removed.
     
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Are you talking about the Resource Binding -tiers post or actual D3D Feature Levels? I saw the former, but haven't seen latter
     
  14. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Resource binding
     
  15. liquidboy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    77
  16. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
  17. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    According the the DX12 feature levels section here (which I assume DmitryKo has updated):

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Direct3D#Feature_levels

    GCN 1.1 is 11_1 only just like Maxwell 1. No word on Tonga in there though.
     
  18. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Correction to the post above since I can't seem to edit from mobile....

    The Wiki above does include Tonga (285) in the FL11_1 section but lists it as GCN 1.1 so I'm unsure of how correct that is.
     
    #38 pjbliverpool, Mar 17, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2015
  19. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    It's wiki, before the companies confirm it one way or another, don't trust it on this.
    Yes, it could be right, but it could just aswell be wrong, anyone can edit it.
     
  20. Nemo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    23
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...