CPU Security Flaws MELTDOWN and SPECTRE

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by Bondrewd, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Asus has been somewhat slow with the patches, though Station-Drivers does show quite a few released this week.
    With the Github Meltdown release they are "under the gun", or should feel they are!
     
    Grall likes this.
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    1,709
    Location:
    Finland
    Depending on your OS and CPU you might already have the CPU microcode distributed via OS update
     
  3. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,170
    Location:
    La-la land
    Holy shit, they didn't post updates until this week?! Bloody hell, they deserve to be fined for being so slow.

    Hm, you sure windows updates can change CPU microcode? If we'd be talking about MacOS I wouldn't be doubting you, but surely microcode is stored in the UEFI, and that's mobo proprietary stuff - unless there's a common interface in the UEFI standard to do CPU microcode updates from windows?
     
  4. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    Microsoft has been releasing KB patches for Meltdown (repeatedly in some cases as it has caused other headaches), separately (Spectre orientated) some of the microcode updates I thought were also integrated into Microsoft updates but in a specific way and for specific OS platform:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4090007/intel-microcode-updates
    https://thewincentral.com/microsoft...eltdown-fixing-firmware-update-download-link/

    It always seems a moving target between what Microsoft and Intel and motherboard manufacturers are doing and difficult to stay up with it all IMO.
     
    #304 CSI PC, Apr 26, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2018
  5. Babel-17

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    242
    I have an ASUS H170-Pro mobo and ASUS finally released a non-beta BIOS update a few weeks ago, and then another one right after that.
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/H170-PRO/HelpDesk_BIOS/

     
  6. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    2,819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I updated my wife's Z97 ASRock BIOS last night with microcode patch. The BIOS was from mid-march, with the previous one from 2016.
     
  7. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    1,709
    Location:
    Finland
    Microsoft is currently shipping the microcodes for Haswell and newer as Windows Updates
     
    Grall likes this.
  8. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Follow-up to state that a Rampage Extreme V "beta" bios is now available at Asus support. Possibly others for X99 motherboards.
     
  9. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Eight new Spectre Variant Vulnerabilities for Intel Discovered - four of them critical
    http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ei...r-intel-discovered-four-of-them-critical.html
     
    Lightman likes this.
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    1,709
    Location:
    Finland
    Not sure where I read it, but despite named "Spectre-ng", they're supposedly Meltdown-related which is why they're not affecting AMD but do affect Intel and some ARM-cores
     
    Lightman likes this.
  11. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,170
    Location:
    La-la land
    Fuck.

    Hopefully this won't mean another kick in the nuts performance-wise.

    Personally I'm starting to get a little bit pissed I spent a thousand bucks on a CPU only half a year ago roughly that's turning out to be a complete shambles security-wise, and has already lost a lot of performance.
     
  12. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    2,819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You could probably sell it, get an equivalent performance AMD for cheaper and make a profit.
     
  13. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Don't know if anything is gained since AMD is affected by Spectre and is subject to performance related issues.
    pg 24
    https://seekingalpha.com/filing/4005344?uprof=82
     
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,011
    Likes Received:
    1,709
    Location:
    Finland
    Hm? I haven't seen any benchmarks showing Ryzen losing any performance from Spectre-patches, microcode included or not. And based on current info the new set of vulnerabilities doesn't affect AMD
     
    BRiT likes this.
  15. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,170
    Location:
    La-la land
    Find a buyer for CPU and mobo, tear down my entire PC, buy new hardware, rebuild it from scratch? No thanks... Too much work for a guy with my depression-induced inhibitions. :p From my perspective, I only just built this fucking thing.

    I would accept a new socket-compatible CPU slug from Intel which has been fixed of errata though. I'm thinking there's a good case for forcing Intel to just replace peoples' already purchased product, especially with the performance loss we've already incurred and maybe further loss from this new latest shit. And who says it ends there?
     
  16. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    2,819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Is that based on anything other than a spurious lawsuit which there are likely dozens after the release of the vulnerability info?
     
  17. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
  18. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,773
    Likes Received:
    2,819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Putas likes this.
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    1,499
    Read the whole article and supporting benchmarks which show slight degradation for both Intel and AMD. The lag is felt on both Intel or AMD cpu's.

    Their conclusion for both Intel and AMD processors was:
     
  20. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,170
    Location:
    La-la land
    Why is it that switching between kernel and user mode has such a heavy performance impact anyway? From what I seem to recall reading, it involves flushing all registers/caches, but why do that if it means stalling the CPU for thousands of cycles each time? Couldn't - for example - metadata be added to cache lines to mark them as user/kernel and making them inaccessible unless in the correct mode, and thus let them stay in cache unless evicted normally, so that mode switching doesn't have such a huge penalty?

    I'm sure there's good reasons for everything, but I thought I might as well ask... :D
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...