Compressing matter to < 1 hodon and black holes

K.I.L.E.R

Retarded moron
Veteran
A black hole is formed when you compress existing matter into some horribly small space.
My question is, if you compress a quantity of matter into a space of 1 hodon or less, is that a requirement in order to form a black hole?

No idea what a Hodon is, but iirc it's just a ratio of matter per area (density) that needs to be met (dense enough that light can't escape) and you essentially have yourself a blackhole in the making. Compressing it to a certain physical size shouldn't matter so much, just a certain density and the rest should take care of itself.

I'm no physics professor, but that seems to be how it would work logically.

Compressing mass to the point that the local gravity is strong enough to capture light is all that is needed.

There are some theoretical limits, I think.
The lesser the starting mass, the more compressed it must be. I don't have much knowledge of the ratios, but if a mass is so small that it needs to be compressed to below a planck unit of space, then a black hole should not form.

It is also believed that black holes do emit radiation, thanks to quantum behavior of virtual particles straddling the event horizon.
Smaller black holes are believed to radiate more, past some threshold, they start radiating energy like crazy.
As a result, the black hole's event horizon shrinks as the equivalent mass is lost. No one is sure what happens exactly when the mass drops to very low levels, but it's postulated the singularity ceases to exist in one form or another.

If the sample of mass is too small, it is possible that the black hole would evaporate very quickly.