Building a new pc : ryzen 5 2600, gtx 1660 super, 2x8GB ddr4 3200mhz cl16

Discussion in 'PC Purchasing Help' started by orangpelupa, Dec 12, 2019.

  1. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,396
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Funny story. My son came down about a half hour later looking dejected. I asked what's wrong, he replied that he loaded up Devil May Cry and lost 15fps! He swore he hadn't changed anything so figured we'd messed it up or the upgrade wasn't that good, I knew he was wrong and that was impossible so asked him to double-check the settings since super-scaling was enabled. Yup, turned out it set itself to 4K behind his back after the upgrade. He put it back to his 1080 setting and it ran a rock solid 60fps. :)

    He was suddenly very, very happy again. He also can't believe the boot time, his last set-up was so borked it took 20 minutes to boot! Yeah, I'd been trying to get him to reinstall to fix that but he kept putting it off until upgrade. We timed it, it took less time to re-install windows than it did for his old PC to boot.
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    quick question
    ryzen 7 3700x + 3800x whats the default memory speed for those cpu's ?
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  3. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    tnx...
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  5. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    did you actually manage to buy that PC at that price? I am so surprised if you did. Your PC is an absolute overkill for that price. Am I missing something?

    Still, congrats on your purchase, the components are really good.
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    some nice stuff in there. Switch to another GPU and you are good to go. As for mining, I once tried with my rig and I felt bad, as if I was prostituting it.
     
  7. A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    332
    The rig is for my new HTPC that runs 24/7 and the Nvidia Maxwell GTX 750 fits the bill nicely as it has a HDMI port and is low power and gets all it's power from the PCIe slot. This PC is not going to be doing gaming so not necessary for a more modern GPU.

    Monero mining on this system is a bonus and is nice to actually offset the power usage costs and make some extra money.

    Current Monero profitability is $92 above power costs:
    https://www.cryptocompare.com/minin...umption=105&CostPerkWh=0.09&MiningPoolFee=1.0
     
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    That's per year
     
  9. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    thanks, but nah, in the end its around 500 dollars, after choosing higher priced parts and failed to get a deeper discount voucher
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    f**k me $500 = 6.8 million Indonesian Rupiah
    orangelupa is a billionaire
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  11. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    you also can be a billionaire, come to Indonesia, buy cheap lands, enjoy holidays like a king complete with personal butlers, maids, chauffeur....

    like seriously, i think you even can buy a whole island (was pretty popular a few years ago where foreigners "marry" indonesian and buy islands in their wife name, dunno still popular or not).
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  12. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    2,412
    what a pity, still, it seemed too good to be true.
     
  13. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    Digi your build isnt finished yet
    [​IMG]
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,396
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Who makes that and why haven't they sent me one yet? Seems like a requirement.
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    #115 Davros, Jan 12, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2020
  16. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    *RANT MODE*

    So I want a 3800x the default memory speed is 3200mhz I also want 32gb (2x16gb) and rgb lighting(childish I know)
    I was looking at the Gigabyte X570 GAMING X (AMD AM4) DDR4 X570 ATX MOTHERBOARD.
    But I cant buy it. why not you ask

    So I brought up all the qualifying memory on the web site and checked them all against the memory QVL for the motherboard
    and none of the memory on sale is on the QVL

    *further rant* not only does this board have a QVL for ram but it also has one for sata ssd's - Great I also have to check to see if my ssd will work
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  17. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    My super cheap, Indonésia local brand "vgen" ram works at xmp2 speed and it was not in the compatibility list for my motherboard.

    Maybe look for the chips? What brands was listed as compatible, and it uses what chip.

    That vgen local brand guarantee the chips will be Korean made, so I suspected they use sk hynix.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  18. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    I'm going by manufacturer code eg: CMW32GX4M2Z3200C16
    thats Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO Black 32GB 3200 MHz AMD Ryzen Tuned DDR4 Memory Kit
    and its not supported by the board I was thinking of buying

    This is all the info Gigabyte supply
    [​IMG]
     
    #118 Davros, Jan 13, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
  19. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What indicates they "Ryzen Tuned"? They're definitely not B-die, like Micron. It's going to be a crap shoot as to whether they work at full speed or not.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  20. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,333
    Likes Received:
    2,534
    #120 Davros, Jan 13, 2020
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
    orangpelupa likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...