Battlefield 3 announced

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Dresden, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Still not working ! Good thing I did not get premium for PC. I have done all the damned things I did previously when I installed BF3.....again....and it just doesn't work after the latest patch !
     
  2. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    If I try to play co-op, it keeps in th e"loading" screen forever ! WTF is this? Holidays are over already !
     
  3. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,950
    Likes Received:
    779
    Location:
    Europe
    CQ was a game changer and super fun. My favorite...easily!
     
  4. MrGaribaldi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In transit
    Gun Master and Scavenger are both quite fun, with the regular modes a shared third.
     
  5. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    CQC has the best small mp maps ever and I love playing Armoured Kill, is just fantastic.

    Smehow, don't enjoy Aftermath that much.
     
  6. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    I didn't consider B2K ! Yes, that is great too ! In fact, the SLC s of BF3 have all been amazing for me, except Aftermath. I dunno why, but it doesn't feel like BF to me.
     
  7. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,950
    Likes Received:
    779
    Location:
    Europe
    I think Aftermath is really great after the so so Armored Kill.

    CQ than Aftermath for me...it has really great maps and a unique feel to it.
     
  8. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    901
    So what's the best gun these days?

    Started playing it again this weekend and the 416 doesn't cut it anymore.

    I only have B2K pack. FINALLY got down to the issue of my crashes. Video cards need to be really downclocked. So putting a RMA in. The joy...
     
  9. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,950
    Likes Received:
    779
    Location:
    Europe
    AEK and P90 are overpowered imo :)
    I RMA my 670 as well, so far no issues with my new one...
     
  10. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    901
    Sweet thanks! Ill give it a shot.
     
  11. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,267
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Does anyone know why Origin sometimes decides it's time to redownload this entire game when it goes to update? This is the third time it has happened on a different computer.
     
  12. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Not the entire game for me but BF3 has huge patches. I currently have a 6Gb one paused. Either that or it downloads the DLCs regardless of whether you've bought them.
     
  13. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,140
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    probably its that the DLC.

    but it is not mandatory. you can pause DLC dowload and keep playing.
    Origin will warn you with a pop up, but you can choose "play anyway".
     
  14. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    Origin did weird out on me with that patch. It reported downloading nearly 300% of the 6GB patch. Not sure what was going on, but it kinda fixed itself after I tried to launch the game again.
     
  15. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,267
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Oh sweet well I haven't bought any of the DLCs but it still downloaded a 6GB update. It wasn't clear to me that I could skip it and keep playing. Fuck it now I've been playing Borderlands 2 with Dresden having a blast.
     
  16. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,140
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    if you have not buy DLC, the 6GB is the update :D

    from my experience (so this can be wrong) there a few things can happends :

    - you can skip it but you may not be able to join some servers. You can join, but after finish loading, the game will get disconnected.

    - or the server browser will correctly detect your game version and only display server that you can play with old game version

    - or you can play normally with outdated game but will crash every map change.
     
  17. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    it works just like Bad Company 2, you will be able to join the server, you will be able to see your friends playing, but you'll get a message you do not have access to this map and you will be booted off of the server in 10 seconds.
     
  18. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,140
    Likes Received:
    1,681
    Thats only happend if playing on DLC map.
     
  19. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    exactly, so that's why you want the DLC.. just to see that you're inelligble to play :)
     
  20. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Australia
    yeah mean the DCL everyone plays for 5 seconds beofre going back to Caspian border?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...