AMD Vega 10, Vega 11, Vega 12 and Vega 20 Rumors and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    695
    I LOL'ed, thanks.
     
  2. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    110
    I give you the HD 6850 and HD 6870 as an upgrade to the HD 5850 and HD 5870 :D
     
    Kej, Silent_Buddha, xEx and 2 others like this.
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,972
    Likes Received:
    4,565
    To be honest, I don't think anything at all is changing with AMD's roadmap.
    The only thing that happened this week was a PR move that gave an official name to what appeared in AMD's roadmaps as "14nm+". It didn't exist so far, but now we know they're calling it 12LP.
    I don't think they'll "transition" Vega 10 or Vega 11 to 12LP either. If they do, it'll come under a rebrand like "RTX Vega 64" or something, but they won't simply transition the GPUs to a new process without saying anything about it.
    They might use it for Ryzen refreshes (Zen+, not Zen 2), and consequently they could be making Zen+ APUs with that process (if they're not doing so already), hence claiming there will be "Vega GPUs" with the new process.
    Or maybe 7nm is too late for Vega 20 so they're pushing it forward using 12LP. Truth be told, AMD's only offering for FP64 compute at the moment is the 4-year-old Hawaii.


    I don't see it that way. Vega is a different name than Navi and that alone should trigger investigation. Pricing between Vega 64 and Navi 64 will be different.
    Consumers might pass on bargains like getting a Vega 64 that performs better than e.g. a Navi 48 that happen to be both priced at $380, but I don't see how someone will buy a $380 Vega 64 thinking it performs similarly to a $500 Navi 64.

    The best part about including the architecture codename in the consumer card name is that people won't be tricked into buying an old-generation card because it has a new-generation name. Like e.g. people who bought a Pitcairn R7 370X in early 2016 thinking it would be a good match for their new FreeSync monitor.
    Future features should just say e.g. "compatible only with Navi GPUs or newer".



    Oh boy was that cringeworthy...
     
  4. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    695
    Yes that was absolutely horrible.
     
  5. DrYesterday

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    18
    Vega 11 - 28 & 32. These look just like half of Vega 10.

    Is it possible AMD is taking Vega dies that have manufacturing faults and using the good half of the die, with one stack of HBM2? Or has AMD designed a new die?
     
  6. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,501
    Likes Received:
    8,706
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Whole lot of rosey...
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  7. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    239
    Vega11 means new die.
     
  8. seahawk

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    141
    Still, if it performs similar to Vega 10, it is a RX580 with HBM2.
     
  9. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,268
    Likes Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Ooops, sorry. Had no clue. Never mined and I don't really run compute applications so I learned something new. Thanks! :D
     
    CarstenS likes this.
  10. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    239
    Which honestly makes no sense.
     
  11. Geeforcer

    Geeforcer Harmlessly Evil
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    464
    [​IMG]

    It seemed like AMD was making an earnest effort to reset/streamline their naming around the time of Polaris release, which was a good time to do so in light of "Fury" muddling the waters and rebranding controversy. Of course, the whole scheme went right into the garbage bin with advent of 580 cards and now "Vega" branding.

    BTW, I have to agree a comment above about generation-specific branding potentially undermining the Radeon brand which is very well established via copeous marketing resources poured in.
     
    Picao84 likes this.
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,268
    Likes Received:
    1,785
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Mebbe they should bust themselves up in to two divisions. One for CPUs and one for the GPU stuff. They could keep AMD for the CPU stuff since it's so well known and liked right now with Zen, but what could they possibly call their GPU unit that would bring back a certain nostalgia/hope/enthusiasm for the brand? Some name that everyone wouldn't be hATing on....
     
  13. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    239
    It's still going to be Radeon.
    Heck it's three times more Radeon now, being RX, Pro and Instinct.
     
  14. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    you have to explicitly disable Crossfire/SLI, as for many/most

    All compute situations / applications .... CFX /SLI are only something relative of gaming ( as it is related to frame / frame calculation ), for all other situations.. think to multiple CPUs ..( most interessant is to know how memory pool can be shared in computing today between GPUs ... as today ( as with Raytracing ), the memory is not a big pool.. ( if i have 2x 8GB gpus, i dont have 16GB available, but in reality only 8GB as each gpu access their own memory pools .... and with today CG, memory pool size start to be an endemic problem .. )
     
    #4194 lanek, Sep 22, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2017
  15. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    License Qualcomm Adreno tech from all their old gang that went over there. It just hasn't been the same without sireric. Except from what I understand their drivers suck too.
     
  16. Frenetic Pony

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    86
    Well, it'll support double rate fp16 and raster order views, which is nice. But current HBM 2 costs do make it seem questionable.
     
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Why do people presume Vega 11 has to use HBM? AMD stated before that they have capability to support either HBM or (G)DDR depending on which specific product needs and after Vega-launch that Infinity Fabric makes connecting different IP-blocks easier. Vega 11 could just as well be with GDDR-memories.
     
  18. yuri

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    147
    Not connecting 'Radeon' to 'Vega' is probably a good thing for the Radeon brand...
     
  19. SpaceBeer

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    The Balkans
    In my opinion, people won't like products with 4GB of memory, even though with HBM2 and HBCC it is more than enough and won't be worse than 8 GB GDDR (it's probably even better). So if they really release such product, there should be large text on the box saying:
    4 GB HBM2, up to 24 GB of memory
    or whatever they decide to be upper limit for these cards
     
  20. seahawk

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    141
    Not really. VRAM is VRAM, try using HBCC on a system with 4GB or 8GB System RAM and see how glorious this is compared to a 8GB VRAM card.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...