Advice about Ubuntu installation.

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Refreshment, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    492
    Grub goes into the MBR or other system section of the HDD, its a part that isn't cleared by partitioning.
    You can edit the old entries out though.
     
  2. Refreshment

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. And how can i accomplish that?

    Surprised to see the CPU usage is bigger than with Windows XP, expected Linux to be more optimised.

    Is there a good anti virus software for Ubuntu to try out?
    :) Well or protection against Spyware or privacy invasion? Any recommended tools for that?
     
    #22 Refreshment, Jun 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2009
  3. rpg.314

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /
    Rest assured. You won't need ANY anti virus for Ubuntu. You could always try some if you really want.
     
  4. StefanS

    StefanS meandering Velosoph
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Vienna
    AVG, Antivir and Fprot are all available for linux for free. I tried out Fprot way back (still command line only back then), worked nicely. But as somebody else said before, you're pretty safe with linux, but i guess you could theoretically download a windows virus and then transfer that file to your windows partition. :twisted:
     
  5. Refreshment

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    So we are toying with the lab rat now? :)

    Didn't know AVG was available for linux. Thanks for the heads up.

    Was checking the ATI site, this is the Catalyst driver they had for linux:
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownlo...x?type=2.7&product=2.7.4.3.3.3.1&lang=English

    Yet no mention of the word Ubuntu anywhere. Will this drive work with the 9.04 release?
     
  6. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    117
    Just use the restricted drivers manager built into Ubuntu.

    As for privacy, simply disabling 3rd party cookies in your web browser should be sufficient.
     
  7. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I got a little desktop (Acer Aspire X1700 with a Q8200 quad core and 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4350) and after I was done with installing that, I also installed a new Ubuntu 9.04 from a LiveCD. This was a nice way of installing by the way because you can just boot to Ubuntu and then start the installer there once you're ready evaluating the Live environment that runs from DVD. After I figured out the partitioning (I wanted to take away 100mb from my second partition and give that to linux - took me a little while to figure out, but I managed it) everything else was a doodle mostly (except stupid stuff like wanting to update Firefox 3.0 to 3.5.1, which for some reason Ubuntu doesn't want you to do very soon - if you want to keep up to date there's a special tool to upgrade before Ubuntu wants you).

    So far I'm pretty happy and mentally am continuously pitching it against Vista. I have Ubuntu now as default bootup, because its much faster, because I want to try and see how far I can get with it (I originally considered trying to buy a new machine somewhere without a Windows licence and just get a pure Linux box), and because I haven't tried figuring out yet how to change the default boot in Grub (which is currently Ubuntu of course ;) ).

    I also got VMWare working in it, so it seems like basically I could do all my Windows related work on this box no problem, which is cool (we work within images pretty much all the time).

    I installed the ATI driver, but I have no idea if it works - when I tried opening some kind of control panel for it that crashed. Installing latest Catalyst drivers gave me BSOD on Vista as well, kind of disappointing.

    Yeah, that's what I used.

    On the other hand, my old Graphire tablet works great with GIMP under Ubuntu, whereas GIMP under Vista has some kind of weird bug it seems. Then again the pen-tablet support works with the Graphire on Vista, which is pretty neat. On the Ubuntu side again, our old Epson 1200 scanner works great under Ubuntu, but isn't supported at all under Vista.
     
  8. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    492
    Oopsie, failed to answer that before.
    Should be a file /boot/grub/menu.lst that is plain text & pretty easy to edit.

    Also http://www.supergrubdisk.org/ has an ISO that automates & GUIfies the editing of GRUB & can be very useful for sorting out multi-boot machines that got all confused.
     
  9. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi, I will take the opurtunity to ask for some help too.

    I want to try linux (dualboot), so I created a new partition and downloaded a fedora (live) iso, and also a Ubunto iso for instalation I have burned them, Then I put my PC booting from CD/DVD.

    The fedora disk will show some some lines (too fast to read but I think there is failure writen somewhere) then put me a "ball" getting ful l(white) then it will show me some blurred lines, and stays forever this way.


    Ubunto starts nice ask me for language and when it starts instalation then I get some blurred things but I think I can read somehere (again too fast) softreset failure.

    Any idea of the problem.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  10. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Did you burn a LiveCD? If so I would first boot the live CD, see if Ubuntu or Fedora runs that way and runs properly, or if you have problems then also. Otherwise, what kind of graphics chipset do you have? I know there are some problems with Intel graphics chipsets. There are always options to do the install from the commandline first, but I don't know if that will help in this case, it's a little beyond my simple Linux skills.
     
  11. Rolf N

    Rolf N Recurring Membmare
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    yes
    Blurry/corrupted video on first boot sounds like either VIA or SiS IGP. It's true that Linux/X.org support for Intel IGPs is not so great atm, but it should still work reliably out of the box, albeit with the brakes on, at least on Ubuntu.

    The LiveCD boot menu should allow you to select a compatibility mode for video, or even a catch-all "failsafe" mode.

    I know little about Fedora's peculiarities in that respect but either way it'd be helpful if you could specify your video chipset. I will say though that Ubuntu's (~=Debian's) software package management is the best I've ever seen, and in my book that makes it very recommendable to people with little prior Linux experience.
     
  12. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thanks for the replys.

    I tried both by booting from the CD (like a clean instal of Windows) and ubunto I did instal with Wubi (?) but when I try to run I cant.

    About the gfx card it is a X1900, meanwhile I have read that ATI does not support this one for Linux anymore. Is this the problem?

    If it is I could try to run in the integrated 3200, but not anytime soon (it already gave me work to have the X1900 drivers up after the 3200).

    Thanks
     
  13. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    I just installed 9.04 on a 9700 and a integrated 3200 (both ATI) and I've had it on my x1600 laptop for well over a year. The laptop was a pain for a while but 9.04 has great ATI support in the free drive IMHO.
     
  14. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well in that case I cant imagine what is the problem.

    Anyway I will try harder later.

    Thanks anyway.
     
  15. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Can you post your full hardware specs?

    I had a rough time with an installation only to find it was the CD (scratch or something). I burned a clean one and the install went perfectly. There is an option to check the CD...

    Have you tried just booting into Ubuntu on the LiveCD?

    Oh, I also had a BIOS incompatibility with a Matrox G200 card, but that shouldn't affect an x1900 obviously.
     
  16. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal
    My specs

    X2 4850e
    2GB DDR2 800Mhz
    Asus motherboard based on the 780
    X1900


    Anyway I tried both fedora and Ubunto to instal directely, ie, putting the bios booting from CD/DVD, on Windows I booted the CD and tried to instal from Wubi.

    Only the fedora CD was a live, the ubunto is a "normal" instalation CD.
     
  17. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Ah.
    I have almost that exact set-up on one of my media pcs. My guess? You didn't disable the on board video (3200)?
    Ubuntu defaults to LiveCD unless you choose "alternate" CD at download...
     
  18. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,889
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    what free drive ?
     
  19. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,048
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    typo.

    Free (open) drivers.
     
    #39 Mize, Aug 8, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2009
  20. pc999

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Portugal

    I think I have spend some time doing that, but how can I confirm?

    To be honest I cant remember but I downloaded it from a (official) torrent, but I will confirm that.

    Thanks again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...