A comparison of PS3 and 360 as media players

I'm not willing to give up FF or the ability to hop around scenes fast ...
I'm curious; what are you doing when watching movies that warrants all this hopping around?! :oops: In typical use, isn't a film 'put in, play, watch to end' with the occassional break when you carry on where you left off? Outside of being a movie student, I can't think of any need to hop around a film often that it'd be a necessary part of a media device!

I'm curious; what are you doing when watching movies that warrants all this hopping around?! :oops: In typical use, isn't a film 'put in, play, watch to end' with the occassional break when you carry on where you left off? Outside of being a movie student, I can't think of any need to hop around a film often that it'd be a necessary part of a media device!

I guess I'm atypical then :) I rarely watch a movie start to finish a second time, but if I like a movie then I buy it so I can rewatch my favorite scenes. It's totally normal for me to come home one day and watch favorite scenes in a dozen different movies over an hour or so, then move onto something else. So I guess I'm a freak because I need FF/Rew. Just goes to show, different strokes for different folks. Ideally I'd like a bookmark system so I can bookmark my favorite scenes on my movie re-encodes, hopefully that will come one day.

Not to say that joker has any part in what I write next, but there does exist a particular genre where most of the target market will skip most of the um... "story" for the money shots or what have you.

:p:p I gotta get my mind outta the gutter. lol

:LOL: I can see you !

For those kinds of adventures, just do a custom AVISynth script to pull the right segments out. Dump them all together. PS3 will cycle or shuffle through all of them, FF or no FF. :)

Or better yet, find someone else who has done the job already. There must be someone who has done it. It has to be. Otherwise, mankind is doomed.