you think ATI R400 will double the transistor count again?

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by megadrive0088, Oct 31, 2002.

  1. OpenGL guy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    28
    So the R300 has about 4x what the G550 has :) You're right, it's all a matter of scale ;)
    This is true... mainly because you can't let your competitors get a competitive advantage.
     
  2. megadrive0088

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0

    I believe the first GPU with 1 billion or more transistors, that makes it into a consumer product, will be the Graphics Synthesizer 3 in Playstation3. Wether it is multi-core or not, I have no idea. but its massive transistor count will be so high most likely because of its huge embedded memory cache.

    Sony and Simplex already produce a GS "1.5" with 32MB eDRAM. forgot the transistor count on that sucker. Sony was ment to have EE2 and GS2 out this year for workstation use. Then around the 2005 timeframe, EE3 and GS3 would be completed to form the basis of PS3 in 2005-2006. that according to Sony.
     
  3. megadrive0088

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    that was my thought as well. there is no way that R400 will be around before summer 2003. probably late summer/early fall like R300/R9700.
    Between now and R400, we will probably see the R350 with 2 TMUs per pipe and DDR-II as ATI's answer to NV30.
     
  4. Vince

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,158
    Likes Received:
    7
    PixelFusion was similar, in that it had >100MTransistors devoted to it's SIMD/eDRAM arrays on a 0.25um process IIRC back in '99 or 2000. Pretty cool actually, but the per die costs were astronomical.

    The Graphic Synthesizer I-32 has 280-odd Million transistors, it's 0.18um and it's package is >20cm*20cm.

    I don't think it has much, if any, relevance to what ATi is producing for the consumer marketplace though, probobly best to leave it outta this conversation.
     
  5. megadrive0088

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    700
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the info on that 32MB GS, I had forgotten that it was called
    GS I-32. man, that's a HUGE transistor count. almost all of it is from the that 32MB of eDRAM. I would imagine if GS3 is similar in concept, that it could easily exceed a billion transistors.

    getting back to ATI, with what has been said about process technology, I cannot see them constantly doubling their transistor count year after year, like they have done twice already.
     
  6. RussSchultz

    RussSchultz Professional Malcontent
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,855
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    HTTP 404
    Except, of course, that the R200 happened at the beginning of last year, and the R100 about 18 months before that.

    Hhhmmm, sounds a bit like moore's law, no?
     
  7. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,764
    Likes Received:
    470
    Ok I found the reference to the EE3, of course by the same account the EE2 should be ready this year and appear in a workstation 100 times more powerfull than the original playstation ... and a workstation should have come out in 2000 based on the EE which was 10 times more powerfull than the original playstation. Given that string of failures with his predictions (Im assuming neither the EE2 nor the workstations will ever see the light of day) and since it was before the IBM partnership I think we can safely say that the 500 million transistor number is utterly and completely meaningless :)
     
  8. PC-Engine

    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    6,799
    Likes Received:
    12
  9. Kristof

    Regular Alpha

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    733
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Abbots Langley
    :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

    I think that's a typo... cm -> mm ?!

    K-
     
  10. Simon F

    Simon F Tea maker
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,560
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    In the Island of Sodor, where the steam trains lie
    Whether this is correct or not, it's not really relevant. Sony can afford to lose a very large amount of money on each system because they get a cut from all the software packages sold.

    PC IHVs have to make a profit.
     
  11. Dio

    Dio
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Actually, the idea that a console manufacturer can burn money indefinitely on console hardware because of the software subsidy is somewhat of a fallacy.

    The reasoning is that the average console owner buys something like 10 games over the life of the console (I can't remember the exact figure, but I was surprised, it was significantly lower than I expected). The software subsidy isn't that great - only a few £ per game - so you can't afford to subsidise the hardware assuming a £200 kickback from the software side.

    Even if the figure was up in the 20-game region that I would have thought more normal for life sales, that's still probably under £100 to subsidise the hardware with.

    The general rule is that the first few million units (about the first year of the product) can afford to be sold as a loss leader, but as console volume ramps you have to shrink your chips, cheapen components, etc. and get the hardware to break even. Then in the later life of the product - after a second or third shrink - the hardware should start making a modest profit (or at least should have room to do so before competitor price-cutting leads you down that road too).
     
  12. Randell

    Randell Senior Daddy
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    London
    product launches were actually

    R300 was launched July 2002
    R200 was previewed August 2001/reviewed October 2001
    R100 was launched July 2000

    did the tape outs etc occur in a different relative time frame (~12 months bewteen each product?)

    according to you timescale R100 occurred summer 1999.
     
  13. Simon F

    Simon F Tea maker
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,560
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    In the Island of Sodor, where the steam trains lie
    Dio,
    I was only assuming a few dollars/Euros/whatever per chip. Something that could be achieved with the sale of a couple of games. (BTW the market that the Console companies want to get into is online gaming, where they can get more regular income (BTW I'm not implying that is bad in any way))

    The thing is that the HW vendors in the PC market don't have that option at all.
     
  14. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Chania
    As a layman I wouldn't compare PC graphics chips with console chips, simply because of the lifespan each can have. I might keep a console for a 5 year period which wouldn't be much of a problem, while on the contrary keeping even a high end graphics board for 5 years would make me a hero *ahem*.
     
  15. Johnathan256

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    megadrive0088 said:
    Where is the link to the site where NVIDIA said that NV30 will have a 128-bit memory bus? I am really curious as to where you get your facts. :)
     
  16. Megadrive1988

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,638
    Likes Received:
    148
    There are no links to Nvidia saying that NV30 will for certain have a 128-bit bus, only hints of that. Wasn't it David Kirk who said that 256-bit
    was overkill? That's pretty strong indication, IMHO, that Nv30 won't have a 256-bit memory bus. Now I'd absolutely LOVE for NV30 to have a 256-bits bus since you can never have too much bandwidth. So I guess we'll just wait and see right?
     
  17. DadUM

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    David Kirk said 6 months ago 256 bit was overkill "for the moment." But you must also realize that he also made this statement right after the paper launch of Parhelia which had a 256 bit memory interface. Which product does better, the GF4 Ti4600 or the Parhelia?

    I am sick of that statement being offered as "proof" that NV30 must be 128 bit. Fact: I don't know what memory interface NV30 will have and I would not be surprised with either.
     
  18. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    JonathanFanBoi:

    There are no facts NV30 will have a 256-bit bus either, so don't get your panties all in a bind over nothing. Like Dadum pointed out, Nvidia representatives (Kirk, or somebody else) called 256-bit "overkill", which I certainly does not see them say if their next product features it.

    Doesn't mean of course it won't have a 256-bit bus, but in most people's opinion it is a fairly strong indication it might not have it. Well, there's always Alexok's assurances it will have it of course, if you believe him......... :)

    Anyway... Why does it matter to you or anyone else with half a brain if NV30 has a 4-bit or 2048-bit memory interface as long as it delivers kickass performance and IQ at an at least fairly reasonable price?

    All you manage to do with your indignant comments is to sound like a whiney f*nb*y. If it's got 128-bit then it's got 128-bit and WHO CARES, really? Like with dicks, it's not size that matters (and trust me, I know this from personal experience. :lol: ).


    *G*
     
  19. Megadrive1988

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,638
    Likes Received:
    148
    I never buy the first iteration of a new technology anyway, so my next jump in graphcis cards will be the R350 or NV35 anyway. Though I HOPE NV30 has a 256-bit bus, because that guaruntees that NV35 will as well. because if NV30 has 128-bit bus, that doesn't necessaraly mean NV35 would get one.


    right now I think the odds of Nv30 being 256 bit is 50/50 at best. Of course, I am extremely interested in seeing its IQ and texture mapping/pixel shading ability, as it will give good indication on what to expect from the entire line (NV31, NV35, etc)
     
  20. Guest

    Guest Guest


    You should know nappe1 that I knew what they had up their sleeves you forgot that already :cry:

    mmm guess I should cut it down more that pic still to big.....
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...