Swapping HDD's in my PS3 - backup utility and other related Q's

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by djskribbles, May 23, 2008.

  1. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    On my rock
    I thought you were limited to 5 downloads from PSN for paid content and after that have to re-purchase. Is that not accurate anymore?
     
  2. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,681
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I did the same yesterday, backed up 35GB of data (reported use was at about 55GB, which includes Linux), and swapped in a 320GB drive. I had some problems with the screws on the metal case, as do a lot of people apparently, but needle-nose pliers helped. Then back in, formatting, reserving 10GB for Linux again (I didn't backup my Linux install, going to get a new one at some point anyway), and restoring the data. The latter took quite long and seemed to come to a halt once or twice, but after about 2 hours it was all there.
     
  3. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,598
    Likes Received:
    11,004
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    No! The HDD's are linked to the PS3 unit.

    You need to do a backup, then restore to your new PS3.

    I don't about this. I know that you can install stuff on up to 5 different PSN accounts, but I don't recall hearing about any limits on how many times you can download.
     
  4. AntShaw

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Backup and restore it is then! Will have to wait until at least tonight, wasn't able to find a 40gb unit yesterday.
     
  5. Fu3lFr3nzy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Question here:

    Say I decide to take out my HDD and plug it in another PS3, once the PS3 boots will it prompt me to reformat the drive or will it load normally with my data intact?

    I ask this incase the PS3 needs to be sent it for repairs so I have to take out my 320GB HDD and plug it in the refurb.
     
  6. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,598
    Likes Received:
    11,004
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    The new PS3 won't boot off the HDD. I don't know if it asks to format or not.
     
  7. SG79

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.. I'd better get an enclosure and back up then.

    And to touch in on an earlier post, downloads are unlimited on 5 different machines (confirmed, having had to re-download some content more than 5 times). That applies to PS1 games playable on PSP's (up to 5 PSP's).
     
  8. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My PS3 is broken, but im thinking getting an external HDD in a few days.

    I need confirmation that the backup function saves the PS2 saved games as well.

    Does anyone know if it does/does not? Thanks.
     
  9. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,598
    Likes Received:
    11,004
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Well... Hum... Now that I've used the PS3 backup tool, I'm almost wondering why bother?! I used up almost 5 GBs of HDD space, to save 3 users, a few megs of themes and a few megs of saved games. It didn't backup Warhawk or the LBP patch. Also while backing up, I had to delete content to fit onto my 6 GB external HDD. I had 3 GBs free and was told the PS3 needed an extra 700 MBs. I free up 1 GB and I'm told it need 400 MBs more! I delete all my downloaded games, so the only things I have on the PS3 are WH and LBP, and that shrunk the backup size requirement...and yet these things aren't restored. So why would they need backup space?

    After all that faf, the only thing restored was three user accounts and saved games. No themes, PSN login details, patches or download games.
     
  10. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    That's quite strange. When I did my backup it saved everything, PSN login details, saved games, downloads, the works. Everything was restored to the new HDD I put in. I also did the same trick for a friends 40Gb > 120Gb upgrade and that also restored everything off her old HDD.
     
  11. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    May be it depends on the space of the backup HDD ? My experience was similar to Shifty's. I had a limited backup HDD like him too.

    The PSN login record was not copied. I think the theme setting was also not backup'ed/restored but I am not sure anymore.

    The game saves restore is a big plus though. Otherwise, you'll have to copy them individually. There is no "Multiple Copy" for game saves.
     
  12. AntShaw

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    And no system settings as well. It didn't restore any of my system settings when I did it either.
     
  13. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,598
    Likes Received:
    11,004
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    This is on a replacement PS3. It looks like when you get your PS3 replaced, the restore restores practically nothing, rather than upgrading an HDD in the same PS3. This is something to note for anyone wanting to buy a later PS3 model, or a second machine. Backing up won't enable you to clone your old PS3 experience onto your new one. It'll in fact copy over next to nothing, and you'd probably be better off copying out game saves and be done with it.

    To clarify, having used backup I had to manually set :

    Correct name (An asterisk was added to the restored account names)
    Network settings
    System settings : Time (use internet clock), music, theme, display
    Enable ATRAC
    Enable WMA
    PSN Details
    Download all games
    Download all patches
    Recreate a US account. The old one was not restored.

    What was restored :
    Saved games
    User account icons
    Themes were saved but not applied

    I don't know about images, movies or audio files as I cleared the few I had off.
     
  14. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    It's a pain in the b*tt to do this manually. You have to go through every game save to copy them.

    I did it because my target disk was very small. The backup function is the recommended way to copy game saves in my case (upgrading PS3 HDD).
     
  15. obonicus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suspect the tool is mostly meant for people upgrading HDDs. With me, it was even going to copy game installs until I manually deleted them.
     
  16. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,681
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Yeah, I also used the tool when I upgraded, and before also when I made a Linux partition. In both cases virtually everything was backupped and restored, including all logins, etc. Very happy with it. I also used a 320GB external HDD the second time, and I backed up about 55GB off my 60GB harddrive. Now that I think about it, would be interesting to see what would happen if I put that 60GB drive into another machine ... probably won't transfer a lot either, due to the DRM. It's not surprising, but its good to know anyway. I was already planning not to copy anything to the second PS3 through backup, just start using it fresh and download/install stuff when needed. I've vowed to wait until the PS3 hits 299 though, so I don't think it will happen at least until something like March 2009. ;) Completely unrelated, I noticed that if you download something from the PSN store and don't use background download, it installs automatically.
     
  17. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,598
    Likes Received:
    11,004
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    OH, sort of a "Rock and Hard Place" choice then. Without an option to copy out the folder of save files, copying them individually versus spending a notable amount of time backing up absolutely everything even when you don't want to isn't an easy choice to make! I suppose at least with backup, if you have the room to hand, you can leave the PS3 to it and go do something else instead.
     
  18. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    Yap, the basic problem is there is no "Multiple Copy" option for game saves. I believe the same option is available for other media.
     
  19. Gradthrawn

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    84
    Location:
    Michigan
    I said that back in May in this very post! :razz:

     
  20. Yemeth

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croatia
    I did not knew that, then they should not name it "backup utility" but "upgrade to a bigger HD in the same PS3 utility".

    Gradthrawn, or someone else, can anyone confirm if the audio and video files are copied to the HD of a different PS3? Because if we use the PS3 as a multimedia device, then it would be nice if we have a functioning backup as in backup...

    What are our alternatives then? Copy everything to an external HD?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...