Shadow casting lights: Why is it such a limitation in games?

So we are well into year 2 of the next-generation of games, and I've found myself wondering when we will get to the point where we are seeing real time shadows for all light sources in any given scene. I've never worked on hardware before, but I would love to know why this is such a challenge in games.

I've decided to pick up a book on real-time shadows and run through the gambit and see what I come up with using my Titan X here at home. If anyone can shed some specifics working in the industry, I'd love to hear it.

For the average gamer baked shadows vs real time shadows offers very little visual enhancements for many games and in many environments and scenes in those games. Now I'm not saying all games some games like Doom 3 needed that realtime lighting. But take Forza 5 for example, by having baked in shadows that will give them shader headroom for other more visually spectacular things such as achieving a solid 60fps. There may possibly be ESram gbuffer issues as well.

Also developers are having to pull out more stops to achieve a certain leap in visual fidelity given these consoles have far less expensive hardware than last generation when you factor in inflation:
BOM = bill of materials
Xbox 360 BOM = $525 ($606 in 2013 dollars via factoring in inflation)
it_photo_9970.jpg

sources: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/11/24/xbox360_component_breakdown/
http://electronics360.globalspec.com/article/2210/xbox-360-teardown
http://www.alphr.com/news/hardware/80708/isuppli-reckoning-the-xbox-bill-of-materials

PS4 BOM + manufacturing cost is at $381.
Xbox One minus Kinect2 BOM = $396 ($396 in 2013 dollars). Alot less spent on the console internals this time around.
ihs_microsoft_xbox_one_bom.png

Comparing Xbox 360 adjusted to inflation to Xbox One/PS4 there is a $210 and $225 drop respectively in hardware component cost this generation.