Kingdom Come: Deliverance

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by swaaye, Nov 9, 2015.

  1. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    7,781
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    :shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked::shocked:
    How much disk space does the game take? I am overly tempted to get it on GoG, tbh. I say overly because I shouldn't.. But it looks so good, and my 1050Ti manages almost everything at 1080p pretty well. I tested in one of the most demanding games, The Witcher 3, and my laptop's 1050Ti runs it at 1080p60 fps without a single hitch at AFx16 and mostly low settings save for the textures which I set at high and the addition of God rays. It looks awesome nonetheless.
     
  2. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    My Steam version is 34 GB.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  3. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,330
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I briefly tried the game on my notebook. It has a 980M which is similar to your 1050 Ti. Ran quite well at 1080p on High quality.
     
    #23 swaaye, Feb 15, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2018
  4. Jupiter

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    702
    #24 Jupiter, Feb 17, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  5. Malo

    Malo YakTribe.games
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,207
    Likes Received:
    2,200
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Wow that's a huge difference. What is r_batchtype anyway? Draw call batch submissions or something?
     
  6. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Okay so I restarted (just because I wanted to explore Skalitz a little more) and then I did the horse thing. I managed to gallop but it was weird because the other people had superhorses which wouldn't tire like my horse did.

    Anyway, I survived and now I have to find out what to do. I also figured out the fighting system a bit more, I'm not a specialist yet but since Henry isn't either, it's fine. Henry, you and I, we can grow together, you putz.
     
    Lightman, swaaye and Malo like this.
  7. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,330
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Horses do in fact vary greatly. And you can improve your horsemanship.

    Swordsmanship is very complicated. There are people you can literally train with. There is a bullet time effect and some automation as you improve skills. But a lot of thinking and focus is involved too. I love it. I've only spent time with short sword and bow so far. I've spent at least an hour just training trying to figure out sword and level up its aspects. It's aawesome when you can go out and school some bandits and get them running and begging.
     
    #27 swaaye, Feb 17, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2018
  8. dogen

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    160
    "CPU Friendly" at 0, "GPU Friendly" at 1

    Looks like that's about as deep as the Cryengine docs go on this setting.
     
  9. Ethatron

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    212
    0 stable-sorts draw-items by their scene-tree location
    1 sorts draw-items by PSO-flags and then PSO-type (basically shading configuration)

    What you see as a gain is the total overhead of shader-switching on every draw vs. shader-switching on every new shader-type-cluster. A cluster-size could be in the direction of 5 to 20 draws. Setting a PSO every draw is approximately 1/7th of all draw-specific API calls (1 is the draw, 1 is the PSO then 5+ more is setting mesh inputs and other resources) looking at D3D12.
    In D3D11 it is a lot more calls, but they are not proportionally slower, setting one texture or 10x one texture is not too different speed-wise on D3D11, what cost is the "state-is-now-dirty" trigger, not so much the amount of subsequent orgy of API-calls (on D3D11).

    Anyway, now you know how expensive it is to change a GPU-program on the Vega GPU. :)
    Now you also understand why using an uber-shader (I suppose it's maybe about in the ballpark of 10 different shaders for the whole game, just guessing) in Doom is totally justifyable, even if the programs become 5x times as large and have tons of branches (coherent ones though).
     
  10. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,330
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I noticed they've added Steam cloud sync now. Now it can sync 600 MB of save games for you. :) I was wondering if they'd add that. These indie games sometimes forgo it. Though this game is a hell of a lot more popular than most indie games.

    I saw an interview with the developers saying the game is on the latest version of Cryengine 3 instead of V. That is because of course they started development long before V became available. But they also said that their version of 3 is more advanced than V. Interesting.
    https://wccftech.com/kingdom-come-d...s4-warhorse-is-already-looking-at-neoscorpio/
     
    Lightman and Cyan like this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...