In regards to the FEAR games on the consoles

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Mobius1aic, Nov 25, 2007.

  1. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    244
    First of all I'd like to know your thoughts on why the 360 version at least didn't run the game with soft shadows like available in the PC version. Also, I'd like to know the soft shadow rendering method they used. It looks like some kind of double rendering, with the "light" one placed under the "dark" shadow. I highly doubt its a truly soft penumbra and I'm aware of the PC version not letting the game run soft shadowing and AA at the same time. And even still, I wonder why the game didn't run at 60 frames a second either (or is there a way of forcing it?). The Xenos is pretty powerful, and if it's close to or equal to a GeForce 7900 class GPU, which is easily powerful enough for running the game steadily at 60 FPS w/o slowdowns (w/o soft shadows), why not let it?

    However, looking back on it, I must say that playing the game seemed more creepy on the 360's locked lower framerate than at 75 Hz and soft shadowing enabled on my PC. Then again the 360 version was also my first real run through with the game.
     
  2. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    The soft-shadows did affect perfomance quite some. I think it is doen through redrawing the scene or just shadows several times, each brighter than the other.

    Maybe it is just to much for it, memory bandwidth and GPU wise, maybe ROPs suffer?

    Soft-shadows did add a creppy "soft blurring" for objects making it more "nightmarish". Also soft-shadows and AA did work on the PC version with a trick. it did give me ~22-30+fps (30-60fps and mostly at 45+ without soft shadows) at 1280*1024 res, vsync enabled and 4xAA/16xAF, on a 7900GT. The thing is it had to be done every time level changes or game is restarted...

    http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w193/NebulasPhotoPocket/FEAR-5.jpg
    http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w193/NebulasPhotoPocket/FEAR-1.jpg
    http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w193/NebulasPhotoPocket/FearAAwithSS.jpg
     
    #2 Neb, Nov 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 26, 2007
  3. Acert93

    Acert93 Artist formerly known as Acert93
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Seattle
    Games can be CPU limited as well...

    IMO softshadows were very poor in FEAR. The visual return was poor for the performance hit.
     
  4. Bohdy

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    4
    FEAR's engine is not a CPU-limited one. Trust me, I ran it on a crappy PC with high framerate once I turned the graphics down ;)
     
  5. Acert93

    Acert93 Artist formerly known as Acert93
    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    7,782
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Seattle
    Xenon isn't a PC CPU though. Just look at the PS3 port which has a number of issues (at lower resolutions even) than would be initially indicated. I don't believe FEAR is threaded very deeply, so it is going to be impacted by the unique design and limitations of the PPEs in Xenon and Cell. It wouldn't be the first time a PC game ported to the consoles was CPU limited.
     
  6. keptcopsup

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it was a lazy port.

    My computer isn't even specwise as good as a 360, yet I got nearly double the framerate.

    The textures are also downscaled on the 360 version...

    Before the 360 version was released, the PR people said the game would "run at PC settings on max plus HDR". Now the settings the actual game ran at weren't even close to max, and I've never seen any signs of HDR in FEAR for 360...
     
  7. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not played the pc version for a while now, but i have the x360 version, and it looks like its running with max pc settings, maybe you're confusing blurring due to lower resolutions and lack of 16xAF (or any af) with lower texture resolution.

    I think the game could have been done better on the 360 though just like Oblivion could, they were ment for pc anyway so they're just Lazy ports(like you said) on x360, also consoles will never outperform high end pc.

    Frame rate could probably be higher if they didint lock at 30 wich im not sure but i think it is locked, but that would make u notice slowdowns alot more ofcourse, so they made the right choise
     
  8. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    244
    The Turion TL-56 in my laptop had no trouble running max CPU settings for FEAR. It really helps that FEAR is at least dual threaded. It's the graphics that are really the killer when it comes to running it on my laptop. Thank God for my desktop rig:cool:
     
  9. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mistake i installed fear on my pc and xbox 360 textures seem equivalent to medium on pc.
     
  10. Turok

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would say it's a lazy port. Looking at the Project Origin video, which seems to be running on a 360, everything looks worlds better than FEAR on the 360, runs at a much smoother clip too.
     
  11. Dave Glue

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    25
    Nope, it's definitely running with reduced textures. The PC version is far graphically superior. Remember that if you select Max textures on the PC, you really need a system with 2GB to avoid stuttering - no surprise they had to lower them for the 360 with 512 megs total.
    Oblivion ran at 1024x600 initially (I think they updated the res later with a patch) - Radeon 1900XT's at the time could run it at a higher res with a better framerate.

    Remember that while the 360 GPU is a shader monster, it doesn't have the texturing speed of most modern PC GPU's.

    I think primarily is that it's just a very PC-tailored engine, same thing with Unreal Championship on the Xbox sucking, then Epic made a version heavily tailored to the Xbox and UC2 was far smoother despite also being far better looking.
     
  12. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess you didnt see but i posted above my mistake i just didnt play it in a long time
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...