Help Laptop For School

arter2

Newcomer
Hello Beyond3D can you tech heads help me find a good laptop for school. I’ve been looking for month and I have been having a lot of trouble. See I’m going to art school [The school of visual arts to be exact] and my major is computer graphics. I know I need a high-powered laptop for the essential programs I will be using. Programs like Maya, Photoshop, After Effects and many others. So here are the two options I’ve been looking for:

1. A regular high powered gaming notebook with a high-powered graphics card and main processor. I’d prefer And AMD 64 chip whether it be duel or regular and an ATI graphics card [whatever is the best at the time the best seems to be the x800] though I am open to other choice I just am confused what will be the best for my money. Also I’m looking for the highest quality screen too 17†wide screen.

2. The second option is a little more ambitious but I believe it will be perfect for my major. I am looking for the closest thing to the above a leading edge high-powered computer that is a tablet pc. See a tablet could be great for the drawing and modeling that I will be doing. The problem is all the tablets on the market that I could find is that they are way under powered.

I know I am asking for a lot guys but I’ve been looking for months and there is nothing out their that really meets these specs some companies have one thing and not the other and I’m just wondering what company has the best for the money that I will be paying which I know is a lot. I’ve looked at Dell, Alienware, Falcon, and some random others.
So guys can you help???

I wouldn't really do this for what you want . A laptop is not ideal.