Firefox - No More Tab Groups [2015 - 2019]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Jawed, Nov 23, 2015.

  1. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    3,104
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It's like the thread rediscovered itself.
     
  2. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    So how are people coping?
    Anyone found a reasonable alternate & relatively easy transition?

    Edit: apparently the hide tabs API is finished in Experimental state for FF59.

    Oh and apparently its actually possible to enable Legacy extensions in FF57 afterall!!!
    about:config has extensions.legacy.enabled which is default false -> set true & restart browser.
    (Maybe a bit more complex than that to get it going, some references to having to use a beta version to do it which I don't understand)
    Haven't tried it yet but someone mentioned it in a Tab-Groups thread indicating TabGroups does work with it in FF57 :)

    Apparently that option is being killed with FF59 though :(

    experimental Tabgroups addon for FF59, dunno if any good
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/basic-panorama/
     
    #82 hoom, Feb 16, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2018
    Jawed and digitalwanderer like this.
  3. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    103
    At least some of the necessary APIs for reimplementing the lost functionality is (in an experimental state) targeted for Firefox 59.

    https://blog.mozilla.org/addons/2018/01/26/extensions-firefox-59/
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1423725

    There are some promising extensions actively in development, but I haven't looked at their current state lately. Hopefully one of them (or some other) will mature when (if?) the needed support has rolled out and they can more easily be deployed to end users.
     
    #83 Zaphod, Feb 16, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2018
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  4. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    Still running 56.0.2 with No Script in full lockdown and no fucking ads.
     
    Simon F likes this.
  5. Simon F

    Simon F Tea maker
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,560
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    In the Island of Sodor, where the steam trains lie
    Except (as is the case on my main PC) presumably the endless ads/nags that your browser is critically out of date? :)

    I upgraded the version on my laptop to the latest on the promise it was faster but, frankly, it's just traded one process with a large memory footprint for several processes. I doubt the overall memory usage has come down by any significant amount and it now seems it takes ages for a new tab to open/download/render.
     
    #85 Simon F, Feb 19, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2018
  6. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,237
    Likes Received:
    806
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    This is opposite to what I have observed, the new (quantum) Firefox is faster to open new tabs and is faster to start up with a lot of tabs open. I don't really care about memory consumption, though so ymmv.
     
  7. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    I turned off update checks...

    I have a new VM at work and I'm going to experiment (at some point) with moving a profile from old VM with hundreds of useful tabs to new one to see if I can make those tabs work.
     
  8. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    Yeah I'm still on 56.02 with updates disabled also but still get the out of date warnings.
    But I do want to move on to the newer tech which ironically is intended to deal with lots of tabs better.
     
  9. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    Just now I got the update warning, never seen before...
     
  10. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    Anybody found good solution yet?
     
  11. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    103
    Both Conex and Totally not Panorama, both linked above, kinda' works.

    In addition to the two extensions already mentioned there's this one that I haven't tried yet. Looks promising.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/panorama-view/

    The tab hiding api got enabled by default in FF61, so maybe an extension can get some traction going forward.

    Edit: Correct link.
     
    #91 Zaphod, Aug 10, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018
  12. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    How about migration?
    Can you do it somehow without losing current tabs?
     
  13. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    103
    All the three linked can import backups from the Quicksaver Tab-Groups extension.

    Here's another one I noticed that does too: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/sync-tab-groups/

    They all seem to be somewhat quirky and buggy, though.I wouldn't trust any of them to not mess up something in their current state. Might be just fine for some use cases and configs while failing spectacularly for others.
     
  14. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    Oh awesome :cool2:
     
  15. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    So I've still been on 56.02, now with Firefox having a dumb screwup with addons I'm feeling the need to switch up to newer version.
    Tab-Groups is actually still working but its several others like Adblock that are broken.

    Whats the score, have any of the above proved a reliable, functional Tab-Groups alternative?

    Its my understanding that when you upgrade Firefox all the Groups disappear, then you need to install addon & it somehow finds them?
     
  16. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
  17. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    I found this:

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/simple-tab-groups/

    which, in its list of features, includes the ability to restore a backup created by "Tab Groups".

    I have another computer which I'm going to test this with:
    1. make a backup of my current tab groups
    2. on other computer install newest Firefox with simple tab groups
    3. import backup of current tab groups on other computer
    Fingers-crossed!
     
    hoom likes this.
  18. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    Good luck!
    I'm too scared of some kind of irreversible screw-up & don't have a spare machine/VM to mess with.
     
  19. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,514
    Likes Received:
    8,717
    Location:
    Cleveland
    That's some dedication, 4 years later.
     
    Kyyla likes this.
  20. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    103
    You can run the different release channel editions of Firefox side by side, so you could use beta or ESR to experiment with newer builds without messing up your current install.

    They still share profiles, though.

    If you prefer the newer FF not to pick up your existing profile, which could cause some annoyances and potential issues, try a portable version.

    Also: https://blog.nightly.mozilla.org/2019/01/14/moving-to-a-profile-per-install-architecture/
     
    #100 Zaphod, May 26, 2019
    Last edited: May 26, 2019
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...