Early quiet sun theory

K.I.L.E.R

Retarded moron
Veteran
My information from:
http://science.slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=440610&cid=22286820

If stars that are young run hotter than older ones, then how is it that an early sun could be dimmer?

I assume that even though the stars are hotter when they are younger, they are also smaller and the radiation requires more distance to travel, therefore losing more energy along the way before it hits Earth. Is my assumption correct?

The sun was dimmer in the past, and has gradually brightened over the course of life formation on earth. This is known pretty accurately based on stellar formation models.

The paradox I gather (im not an expert) is that this contradicts paleontology records, which suggest that their was more radiation early in the earths life.

I gather the resolution is simply that the atmosphere was less well formed and more transparent to stellar radiation than it is today (less ozone). So even though the sun was cooler back then, the amount of radiation that hit the earth was larger.

little theory right off the top of my head (no doubt wrong)
today more of the sun is helium,
helium is more dense therefore the hydrogen is under more pressure burning hotter

Helium isn't fused yet. If that starts to happen, the Sun will explode (very slowly). But it's true, that there is a growing core of heavier helium, and that the radiation of the hydrogen fusing around it is what is pushing the Sun outwards.

If the radiation makes the Sun expand too much, the pressure needed to fuse the hydrogen reduces, which makes the Sun compress, which results in higer pressure, etc.

If there isn't enough hydrogen left, the Sun will compress as far as needed to start burning helium, which makes it expand into a red giant, and swallow the Earth. If the Sun was more massive, it would explode faster.

I read it in a few different books when I was 9-12 years old.