Catalyst 15.7 released (Win10)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Kaotik, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    10,033
    Likes Received:
    4,252
    Location:
    Finland
    https://community.amd.com/community...remium-windows-10-experience-and-so-much-more

    Not out yet for rest of the OS'es apparently, but it's WHQL-certified for Win 10 and I think it's available from Windows Update.

    This is curious:
    Does that mean that AMD drivers will be kept up-to-date via Windows Update from now on?
     
    Grall and digitalwanderer like this.
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    10,033
    Likes Received:
    4,252
    Location:
    Finland
    The drivers are now officially out, for Win 7, 8.1 and 10

     
    Lightman and Grall like this.
  3. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    737
    Am looking forward to Frame Rate Target Control.
    Its a really good idea, one of those things that should have been around forever but for some reason never existed until recently (the NV one is fairly new too right?)
     
  4. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,175
    Location:
    La-la land
    NV has had the feature for a couple years. I tried it back when I still played Team Fortress 2, but enabling it when playing that game still caused that awful source engine mouse lag you get whenever you enable vsynch. It seems source has some kind of built-in lag (possibly caused by multiple buffers being rendered in strict rotation or somesuch) that only disappears if the framerate is allowed to run rampant.
     
  5. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Germany
    Seemingly, I cannot find something like Frame Rate Targets in the Nvidia driver. Care to point me in the right direction?
     
  6. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,175
    Location:
    La-la land
    No idea, I don't own any NV boards anymore. I do recall there was a framerate cap at one point however.
     
    UniversalTruth likes this.
  7. jakobx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I only tried FRTC in counterstrike GO and it doesnt seem to work. I capped it to 75 fps and i can see that the game is running over 200fps (using the Steams builtin FPS counter). Tested on r9 290 (win 8.1).

    VSR is also useless for 21:9 monitors. I can only see 16:9 resolutions.
     
  8. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    3,909
    If using Nvidia Inspector they expose changing Frame Rate Targets either by frames or temperature, and default setting is off.
     
  9. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,699
    Likes Received:
    7,703
    What videocard do you own?

    Are the VSR resolutions for non-GCN3 GPUs still very limited?
     
  10. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    2,734
    -___- this driver cant be downloaded for me. Keep giving corrupted package.

    is there a torrent of it?

    @ToTTenTranz vsr and frame caps is limited to GCN 1.2 and newer right?

    my GCN 1.0 (HD 7770) did not support those features according to AMD website
     
  11. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Germany
    I was under the impression that is something entirely different than offering direct control in the driver.
     
  12. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    3,909
    I think NV added capability back in 2012 (R300 drivers); can also use PrecisionX or Afterburner tools.
     
    #12 pharma, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,699
    Likes Received:
    7,703
    Nope, they VSR was limited to GCN1.1 and 1.2. FRTC is new for all GPUs, I think.

    It supposedly does support VSR now, just not with all resolutions.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,186
    Likes Received:
    4,574
    Some more info:
    The new 15.7 drivers are compatible with all of AMD's graphics cards ' except legacy products ' it also enables CrossfireX compatibility between 300 and 200 series graphics cards based on GCN GPUs that feature identical configurations ( identical GCN core counts, texture units, ROPs etc ). For example the R9 380 should now be compatible with the R9 285, the R7 370 with the R7 265 and the R9 390 series with the R9 290 series. The differences in GPU core and VRAM clock speeds may produce varying results however.
     
  15. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,648
    Likes Received:
    3,627
    Location:
    Germany
    I saw that option, but I was alluding to it being available in the driver without the help of third party tools. :)

    Officially, HD 7790 and (numerically) up. I tried 7770, and it did not work (as expected according to the AMD website). Tried HD 7850, which should work - and it didn't.
     
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    614
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    I installed Win10 on my aging Lenovo Y460 on July 3rd. My laptop also has the switchable Intel + Radeon 5650m graphics setup.

    And I'll be damned if the I didn't get Catalyst Control Center and all the switchable functions straight away from Windows Update. The surprising part for me is the "native" support for the 5650m and also all the switchable graphics crap.

    I've been playing games with it; performance seems quite good. The AMD GPU tool doesn't appear to work on Win10, but MSI Afterburner does.
     
  17. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I think it dont work on DX9 games.

    As for VSR, i got the option, but cant test in games yet, a i have no one installed right now.
     
  18. NATSU

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    amd catalyst 15.7 can download on torrent?
     
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    3,909
    Anyone get VSR resolutions above 3000+?
     
  20. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,641
    Likes Received:
    2,734
    got it off torrent. Witcher 3 now almost stutter free :D
     
    Lightman, Grall and pharma like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...