AMD Vega 10, Vega 11, Vega 12 and Vega 20 Rumors and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    2,227
    http://www.macworld.co.uk/news/mac/...-uk-release-date-price-3511338/#toc-3511338-7
     
  2. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    215
    There is a new Mac Pro planned but it won't be released this year.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,035
    Likes Received:
    5,576
    jacozz, Heinrich4 and ImSpartacus like this.
  4. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    1600/945 for the FE is great news as the enthusiast version should be even higher.
     
  5. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    india
    687F:C1 being 1500Mhz doesn't bode well for Vega, it was barely ahead of 1080 in DOOM when AMD showed it off and its 3dmark scores were around 1070 level where its clock was judged to be 1200Mhz. If it's >450mm2 die size, it could be a pretty big fail at that clockspeed.
     
  6. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Keep in mind that those are scores caught on benchmarks so far. All but the Frontier entries are quite old.
     
  7. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    Not only that but they may very well have been leaks from the iMac Pro where thermals would have been limited from an all in one/mobile platform.
     
  8. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    2,227
    Benchmarks for the iMac Pro already? Isn't the release date in the Dec timeframe?
     
  9. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    3,688
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    iMac Pro core is 1350Mhz so doesn't seem like it.
     
  10. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    They were sitting on tables at WWDC running something, and all it takes is for an engineer, marketing dude, or partner to run a test. They would have had access to the engineering samples as well, prior to building an all in one device.

    Checked the leaks and they all say Windows though. Clocks don't have to be final and the engineering samples are probably all the same chip.
     
  11. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    im surprised you have not take the 1000mhz entry as reference ..

    I have not say they will not do one, maybe a dual gpu, dual cpu setup, but honestly, i dont think it is a market who will evolve for them and attract new client base, and they know it. In fact this Imac Pro is surely more attractive for their pro client as "desktop / workstation " than a mac Pro.
     
  12. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    The sole iMac Pro prototype was being guarded at all times. No one was allowed to touch it, and if you somehow did, you'd be quickly noticed and, presumably, the large man nearby would remove you.
     
    Lightman, Cat Merc, BRiT and 2 others like this.
  13. ieldra

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    116
    The large man nearby sounds awfully convenient, I want one for my system too!

    I doubt the leaked vega benchmarks came from an imac to be honest, which are the more recent ones? I find it hard to believe Vega SKUs will span a 1200-1600mhz range. Probably just misreported clocks, maybe its just reading the boost clock

    ~1ghz on 8Hi stacks of HBM2? How likely is that?
     
  14. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    First, enginner or tester from Apple will never let an internet connection up when running testing and update the result on an database, this have never happend before .. Apple dont like unconrtrolled leak... at contrario of entrerprise or whoever got engineer test sample ( for software test etc )
     
  15. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland

    thoses as for most engineer samples wiith only code names .. with different clocks, meaning testing board send to early softwares tests in general.( in different countrry as China where leaks are more normal )...,,, But the FE edition dont have a codename, the complete name, meaning normally production gpus ( or end bios ).. or near production gpu's .....

    If they report a 1600mhz. we should expect it to be at least 1600mhz... at least for VegaRX.. thoses numers are too much "round" .. no 1624mhz, 1224mhz for be "oc test" or clocking from self users from the board they have got .
     
  16. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    india
    The DOOM demo was way back in December but the Firestrike/Time Spy leaks were in April. The Compubench scores are even more recent.

    I'm not sure what you mean? Why I didn't take 1000Mhz for the 687F sample or that it's reference clock was reported as 1000Mhz?
     
  17. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    95
    1200Mhz could be a particular workstation SKU (or mobile, but I'd expect those to come later) designed for a restrictive TDP. See for example the WX 5100, Polaris 10 cut-down and down-clocked for a 75W TDP.
     
    ImSpartacus likes this.
  18. ieldra

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2016
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    116
  19. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,279
    Likes Received:
    3,527
    So liquid and air cooled versions have the same clocks? The lack of distinction between the two suggests the air cooled will throttle more, while the liquid will sustain the rated 1600MHz boost, albeit at a hefty power consumption cost.
     
  20. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,540
    Likes Received:
    2,227
    Lightman likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...