3D engine as a college senior project

Ahriman4891

Newcomer
Dear all,

I have been reading the forums and the main site articles for about 5 years, and only now decided to register :oops: As the title says, I plan to write a 3d game engine for my senior project in college. I have programming experience in (best to worst) C/C++, Java, Haskell+WASH/CGI, Lingo. I know the theory behind 3D graphics reasonably well, but alas, I have very little practical experience with programming it (dismissing Lingo :D and a couple of little 3D flash games I took part in making). This semester, I am taking an OpenGL-based interactive 3D graphics course; I will ask that professor to become my project advisor, too.

I wonder if you guys could answer some of my questions:

1) Do you think it is a good idea in general? I am sure I will get the faculty permission, but maybe pursuing a different topic would be more fruitful in the long run? (Even though I would like to work in the game industry). Anyone having experience to share?

2) What would be the most reputable sources to get the basic idea of a 3D engine anatomy? (Books, websites, magazines, anything will do).

3) My working machine runs Linux. Given that I will be studying OGL in detail, and plan to utilize that knowledge, it does not seem to be a problem. Still, I have access to Windows as well. Any arguments or comments on Win/DX vs Linux/OGL?

4) I will be able to find someone interested in the topic who may want to join me. Only 1 or 2-ppl teams are allowed. Is such project doable by 1-2 ppl?

These are the most fundamental ones :) I am still not decided about the details, but I am inclined to a flightsim/rts engine, i.e. big open spaces. That's about it. Frankly, the lack of concreteness scares me quite a bit. I hope to get some helpful pointers/advice here. Thanks!