NVIDIA Fermi: Architecture discussion

I wonder how much effort this would be. Of course core i7/i5 is doing this, though it only has 4 cores so it isn't that fine-grained. nvidia would need to have 16 power gated sections (or if we assume shader clusters can only be disabled in pairs at least 8). OTOH though maybe this is easier if it only needs to be done statically? Obviously core i7 does this fully dynamic too.

Well, actually it shouldn't be that hard to do it dynamically and I don't see static being any easier. It's all just real-estate/cooling to put individual power circuitry. That said, real-estate and cooling aren't always simple. :)

Full on power-gating for Nehalem involves sticking big transistors right on the power feeds to the cores.
I'm not a materials scientist, but getting that right is apparently a non-trivial task, and something Intel is apparently proud of accomplishing.

I wonder if a less performant option could be possible for a disabled core or cluster, where there is no concern about turning a core on and off with a fast response time like with Nehalem's power scheme.

I wonder if a less performant option could be possible for a disabled core or cluster, where there is no concern about turning a core on and off with a fast response time like with Nehalem's power scheme.

Something like disabling the power input at the same time as the cluster is logically disabled during the validation process? Would it be possible to simply burn a few fuses to disable a cluster?

Am I missing something (or simply misinterpreting), it seems that according to this: Tesla 20 and Fermi details ,

are they saying that the rumored change to 448 cores (from 512) is due to ECC requiring an extra byte ?? A rough google translate pops this out: