RAID questions with new computer..

Ice[DDZ]

Newcomer
Im looking to build a new system from scratch here, however Ive got a few questions with RAID that Im hoping some people can help me out with here. Ive been using a computer for 3 years now and I feel I have a pretty good grasp of things. Ive only recently looking into a RAID solution and I feel that it would be a great addition for my needs. Below is a current list of what I have chosen for my new system along with links for more information on them.

Intel 2.4C http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=19-116-157
Abit IC7-G http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=13-127-152
OCZ PC4000 Dual Channel Kit (2x256)(TWO) http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=20-146-929
Maxtor 120GB 7200RPM SATA (THREE) http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduct.asp?description=22-144-319

What I'm looking to do here is first overclock the Processor to 3.0GHZ thus allowing the ram to run at its rated 500mhz. I recently read an article on andantech which stated that this is the best configuration of ram (4x256) for performance. I realize it wont overclock as well but I shouldnt have any problems reaching 3.0 which is my target.

As for the Harddrives this is where my question comes in. I wish to run these three 120GB HDD's in a RAID array. (Undecided still on whether to use RAID 0,1,or 5. If anyone can make a suggestion I'd appreciate it) Im wondering if this will be possible with my current motherboard selection. It says its SATA compadible and RAID, however I once read an article which stated most motherboard come with software RAID and that software isnt as good as a RAID card. If this is indeed the case, can someone suggest a good RAID card, as well as HardDrive configurations (2, as opposed to 3 drives)? Ive also heard that RAID5 (I beleive) requires at least 3 drives, Is this the case?