Nvidia GT300 core: Speculation

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Shtal, Jul 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rjc

    rjc
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here from July TSMC Q2 2009 Conference Call:

    So if you assume at the very best will be at least 6 months(yes am way too optimistic) between initial tapeouts and the first products looks like Q3 2010 for 32G products and 28HKMG in mid 2011.

    Interesting there was an (unsubstantiated) rumor floating around awhile back the GT3xx derivatives were targetted at 32G. Havent heard anything about any specific AMD products.
     
  2. rjc

    rjc
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe compare to this:
    [​IMG]



    Edit: Comparing to "GF100" above looks like memory(brown at bottom) is grouped in block of 3 or 6 suggesting 384 or 192 bits.
     
    #2562 rjc, Sep 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2009
  3. Arty

    Arty KEPLER
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,906
    Likes Received:
    55
    What if the shaders are double pumped? :razz: Where do you then end up with.
    In my dream
     
  4. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,810
    Likes Received:
    476
    Very high electricity bills. They might of course have gone VLIW just like AMD (I think it makes a lot more sense than semi-scalar).
     
  5. INKster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Io, lava pit number 12
    Ah, so it worked... ;)

    Quite a drop from what exactly ? Expecting "DX10-ALU's x 2" + DX11 logic "appendages" again ? Not this time.
     
  6. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,430
    Likes Received:
    433
    Location:
    New York
    I'm more intrigued by those 4 lonely blue dots and the absence of any SFU looking stuff in that GF100 pic.

    Oh, btw rjc - if you want to draw a comparison to the GT200 diagram, that GF100 legend has 32 "dots", not 16.
     
  7. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I believe there are 4 rows with 8 SPs each. The 4 dots are probably 4 DP units.
     
  8. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,325
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I am willing to bet that they went wider (32 SPs per cluster) but not VLIW.
     
  9. rjc

    rjc
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes think i was wrong is more likely to be 32 - presently using laptop with shiny screen under fluorescent lighting, lots of reflections, and er headaches.

    So 32 x 16 = 512.

    Looking at the black rop section above the brown memory interface section, like the memory interface that also appears to be in 3 sections.
     
  10. psurge

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    LA, California
    Looks like 2 16 wide SIMDs per cluster to me. 4 DP FMAs sounds probable but is pretty disappointing (for my purposes, not for games) if true... unless of course you mean that those things are actually 4 DP HW dividers ;).

    Could those things be responsible for SFU functions?
     
  11. rjc

    rjc
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Random other stuff from picture above:


    • Bottom left has "3.XB transistors, 40nm xx TSMC
    • Second line of text finishes with "fully coherent"
    • Fourth line finishes with "G200 stream output buffer"

    If the first item is true is definitely not 256 shaders => must be 512.

    Memory interface and ROPs are definitely in groups of 3 or 6....they must have cut the memory interface down from 512 -> 384bits for some reason.
     
    #2571 rjc, Sep 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2009
  12. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    That ain't no Uttargram you inglorious basterd :(
     
  13. jimmyjames123

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    3
  14. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    Don't mix up G100, a G9x with G100, a codename pre-dating G200.

    Call it NV70 to be safe.
     
  15. jimmyjames123

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you go to the bottom of that page I just linked to at driverhq, and scroll through "This Driver is for these devices", they specifically list "GF100".
     
  16. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    Oh dear lord stop it man! it's a rebranded GeForce9300 or the likes. (though the DevID is one up from GT214.)

    Code:
    <Desc>NVIDIA GT214</Desc>
    <HardID>PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_06B0</HardID>
    Desc>NVIDIA GeForce 9300 GE</Desc>
    <HardID>PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_06E0</HardID>
    ;)
     
  17. jimmyjames123

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    3
    LOL, that's probably what they wanted us to think :)
     
  18. jimmyjames123

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    3
    They probably went with 384 bit memory interface for two reasons: one is the move to GDDR5, which improves their memory bandwith vs prior gen without needing to go so wide; two is the need or desire to have a practical "GX2" style card. Who knows for sure though, hopefully we will find out soon
     
  19. DegustatoR

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    msk.ru/spb.ru
    Heh GF100. As in GeForce Fermi 1.00? And GT200 surely meant GeForce Tesla 2.00? 8)
     
  20. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    :lol:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The DRAM devices (in red) are grouped in odd order -- 384-bit interface!?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...