Is there a way (gardening advice)

No, you can't make a rose bush out of a cut rose. Wrong type of plant to propogate that way. You need to actually go out and get a rose bush if you want to grow roses.

It is possible to propagate some of the hardier types of roses, but you need a decent part of a bush, not just a cut rose from a florist. Look here.

Saw the topic and the author and began to wonder if he was going to ask a question about growing funny plants. ;)

bah i know how to do that , actually we planted two more about a month ago .

Just wondering about the roses :)

jvd said:
To get say a rose and make it grow roots ?

If so how would you go about doing this ?

I'm not an expert, but this is what I've tried and it has worked although I've never got better than a 25% hit rate.

Disclaimer: Some cultivars (especially new named ones)are protected in the same way that software is protected (with a EULA :) ) which prohibits propogation....

Firstly, to increase your chances you should get some "rooting powder"** which is a plant hormone with fungacide. Be careful with this stuff.

You then need to cut a reasonable length of stem so that there's a bud (where a branch can form) near the base (say around 1cm from the base) and probably at least one or two further up (or perhaps one or two leaves***). I generally use bits of stem that are 7~10mm thick but feel free to experiment.

Stick the lower bit into the rooting powder (it helps if you wet the stem first), and then put it into your compost so that, say, 2/3 are beneath the soil level.

Since there's a lowish "yield" I usually put a few cuttings in the same pot.

If you're in a dry area it might help putting either a clear plastic bag or 1/2 a plastic drinks bottle over the pot to keep the humidity up, and keep it a semishaded spot so you don't cook it. :-|