Hrlp? Investment on pc or console

Hamid77

Newcomer
Hey guys, I posted this in the wrong section, here it is in correct place.

I have not played a single game on any of the consoles in my whole life. I have been playing games on pc since 1995 and kept upgrading it every year for the games only, otherwise I still can do a lot of things on my P2 pc which plays internet and dvd movies.

MY problem is I am not a hardware geek but I just spent a lot on PC specially graphic cards and my current card is once again outdated and I need a newone to play newer games for which I am ready to spent the money as well, but I need a justification of investment on a 3d card and other pc upgrade over a console.

For example, I am looking to get atleast a 6800GT256 and a processor upgrade to P4 3.2 with 512MB more ram which is costing me US$800, while for gaming an XBOX would cost me $200. There is a difference of $600 which is quite a difference and yet all new games are coming to XBOX like far cry instincts and tombraider legend. Does anybody have a justification why should I spend $600 more on my PC which will require more upgrade in a half a year while I can play current games on an XBOX which is living here for 3 years now and PS2 is living for 5 yearsa. What is the differnce

Is PC much superior than a console in terms oif graphics, sound etc?\
Are Gameplay, controls are easier on PC?
Are PC game players always prefer to play on PC?

On the other hand, I have heard people saying that the console is always powerful than PC. Why is that? How come a console with 733 MHZ processor becomemore superior than 2.4 ghz PC.

I need your guidance in this so that I an fairly made a decision and make my next investment.

Thanks,

well you're not forced to spend $800 :oops:
your PC kind of allows to play current games, though it now could be considered low end.

you could buy a 6600GT and a stick of 512MB PC3200, and nothing else : this will cost you around $200 ;)