Bowflex

nelg

Veteran
Does anyone have any experience using a bowflex machine? I have been working out with free weights at home for 10 months. Besides getting boring, since upping my dumbbells to 40 pounds my elbows and shoulders are getting sharp pains at the beginning of certain movements. I briefly tried a bolwflex machine at a local store. It seemed very comfortable. The pros that I can see of this machine is you can do lots of different exercises, it has a small footprint and it seems relatively safe. On the downside it is a little expensive. Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Buy one used. You'll always find these things for sale in the local greensheet/craigslist/etc.

Or, if you must buy one new, get it from Costco, where it is a whole lot cheaper.

We own one and don't use it much. (I spend most of my exercise time doing cario).

I have not had much luck in finding a used one here in Toronto. My seven and four year olds give me all the cardio I can handle :). As far as Costco, no luck here but they usally have a model based on the sport. I was looking at the xtreme.

It looks like a machine that would actually work (uses resistence to build muscle). I've been looking at it...but my apartement is way to small to be using it ~_~,

But yeah...If I where to find a used one at a good price...I would pick that thing up quickly..even if I would feel cramped using it at my place.

the concept behind them is very good, I myself have been interested in getting one (used to be a gym instructor, uni turned me into a fat slob and am only now getting into shape again)

if you can find one second hand all the better, but yeah i'd say go for it.

I like mine. It has a gentler feel than free weights as the resistance is sort of a slower build up than that initial yank you gotta give with dumbells.