AMD Cool 'n' Quiet Technology-basic terms, what is it?

As Tim said it underclocks the CPU and as far as I remember it also undervoltage it. The CPU can change clockspeed up to 30 times a second (depending on load) as far as I remember.

The one time I tried it at work it simply didn't function properly. Under load it did not speed back up (which in turn killed the 3DMark2K1 score). Turned off Cool 'n' Quiet and the score shot right up to where it should have been.

As others have said cool & quiet lowers the multiplier (hence clock speed) and also the voltage.

It seems to work better on some boards than others, I've been running with it on for several months and there is no obvious, performance difference with it on or off. (early gigabyte, via board and A64 3000+).

A few games run funny with it on, X111 and one other I can't recall, where they run at a fast or slow speed depending on what state the CPU was in a level load but you can easily switch it of by selecting "home/office desk" in power management rather than "portable/laptop".

Out of interest I may run some benchmarks later with it on and off and see how much difference it actually makes on my system.

Is this hardware based?
Would be great if it was software based, as i have an A64 which gets used to its full potential very sporadically. If i leave the PC on while i'm in bed or at work, it would be nice to have it slow down by itself.

It's hardware based but has to enabled through software and can only be enabled on certain motherboards.

OK I ran a few tests with CnQ on and off: (I switch it off by selecting "home/office desk" in power management, rather than uninstalling the driver, in this mode the CPU runs at full speed all the time)

My system: Gigabyte motherboard ga-k8vt800(pro), via chipset. 1 gig DDR cas 2, Radeon X800XT (flashed pro) 520/520

I figured a default 3Dmark 2001 run would be pretty system limited with that video card so I ran that, as its easy. (no AA/AF)