A64 overclocking virgin. (3200+, 939)

Snoochems

Newcomer
Hi all.

As the thread title implies, I have had no experience with A64's. I only got it last week. I've upgraded from an AthlonXP 2500+, that was able to go up to 2.35GHz on air. So, I want to see what I can pull off with these 90nm CPU's.

Here are the system schpeks.
Athlon A64 3200+ socket 939 (stock cooling)
Gigabyte GA-K8NS-ULTRA (nforce 3 ultra)
1GB corsair TwinX DDR400 CAS2
Antec 480W PSU
X800XT-PE
Plenty-o-case cooling

So... I want this baby to fly faster than it already goes.
what do I do?

I've read the guide to overclocking an A64 that everyone I ask seems to link me to. (see http://www.dugu9tweaks.net/guides/a64oc/index.html#setup).

I think I know what to do, but have a few queries, and things I didn't understand fully from that guide.

1. What version of ClockGen should I use for this procedure? I went to the homepage, and no socket 939 boards are listed as 'supported'. Hmmm... I heard the gigabyte Easytune one I have been mucking around with is crap. This right?

2. How do I tell if my PCI is locked or not?

3. For stock cooling, what is the average/expected overclock for one of these 939 CPUs.

4. Why is it my CAS2 rated RAM is unstable at CAS latency 2 timings? In my old AthlonXP system, it was stable. Now it has to be on 2.5 in order to be 100% stable. (it would give me BSOD occasionally with CAS2...)

5. What effect does the HyperTranport Bus have on system performance? Any? My max is supposed to be 1000MHz. I assume it is safe to go under that speed, but not (too much) over.

This is my plan as it stands...
Change the LDT to 4x. (5x being stock)
I have DDR400 RAM. So, is it an idea to say, put the "MaxMem Clock" to 166, and then increase the HTT?
The way I understand the guide, if I set that "MaxMem Clock" to 166Mhz, I don't actually limit the RAM speed to 166MHz do I? It just means that the desired memory speed sits at 5/6 of the HTT speed.

Right?