port forwarding W/ Azureus

jim482

Newcomer
Hi! Can someone please help!!
I am trying to use bit torrents to download 'rar' files and show only yellow or blue smileys.
I am using a linksys wireless router, a wild blue internet sat and trend micro software. I have done flips trying to get the NAT and DHT to jive but have had NO LUCK. I am not totally "wet behind the ears" but I am not an expert either. I have set up exceptions in trend and set up the port forward in router but they still read "firewalled" in the bottom indicators of the program. Can anyone give me some advice? Oh also, The first file that I downloaded and used Winrar to unzip would only play sound....no video. Did I do something wrong in the unzip? Thanks so much in advance...

Jim

I am trying to use bit torrents to download 'rar' files and show only yellow or blue smileys.
I am using a linksys wireless router, a wild blue internet sat and trend micro software. I have done flips trying to get the NAT and DHT to jive but have had NO LUCK. I am not totally "wet behind the ears" but I am not an expert either. I have set up exceptions in trend and set up the port forward in router but they still read "firewalled" in the bottom indicators of the program. Can anyone give me some advice? Oh also, The first file that I downloaded and used Winrar to unzip would only play sound....no video. Did I do something wrong in the unzip? Thanks so much in advance...

Hi Jim! Welcome to the fora!

There could be multiple reasons, why Azureus doesn't work properly.

A) Maybe there's another firewall program running. Did you disable the Windows firewall or set exceptions for it?
B) Your ISP is blocking certain ports. If so, you'll have to switch ports.

Moreover, there's a NAT / firewall test included in Azureus. What did it say?

As for no video, you probably don't have the right codec installed, so either you'll install a codec pack or you just use VLC, which nearly supports all codecs.

here's what it says