"Munich Officially Drops Windows, Adopts Linux"

Wow, so i guess all their employees are gonna have to be trained. I've never used Linux, what's the main difference anyway? Remember, i'm not a programmer.

Move is same in France. It seems that more and more State and Adminsitrations start to realize that using proprietary software with no access to source code and no right to modify it is a really bad idea.

I don't think the management in Munich care about opensource. I really expect their looking more at cost. Yes Linux is free, but they will still spend a heap of money on third party support, consultancy, and so on. They could just as easily move to mac, or solaris (which used to be big for CAD, scientic workstations) just as easily of the price was right.

london-boy said:
Wow, so i guess all their employees are gonna have to be trained. I've never used Linux, what's the main difference anyway? Remember, i'm not a programmer.

since most of them use Office Suite, you can get the taste of it by downloading Open Office.

transition is .... non-existant.... my mom, who is 65 and has worked on M$ forever had to use my comp a week or two ago and she had 0 ( nada, none, no at all....) problems when working in Open Office....

most (if not all) Linux distros use Open Office, so...there you go....
personally i will NEVER pay for M$ Office as long as there is Open Office, which BTW is now in 2.0 beta and is really really nice to work with....

Just wait till your mom has to do something non-trivial like attach a new printer, setup fonts in X or change resolutions, or add a new driver. Oh yeah, I can see my mom running XConfigurator/XConfig/etc

The Linux desktop is terrible. OS X shows you how to layer a very nice, easy to use desktop on top of Unix. Linux makes a nice server OS and a nice embedded OS, but as a desktop OS for the everyday non-technical user, it is the worst of all possible worlds.