in badly need of a decent and cheap laptop

baniceday

Banned
i am a student, just wanna to buy a new laptop for my college life. i will not use it gaming a lot. just for school work. but my budget is very tight (less than 500bucks). since the money is a big issue, i'd go with a good deal. i've found one --Toshiba Satellite L515-S4010 15.6" Notebook for 430 bucks at Office Depot.
i wanna know if it is really worth every penny. cons or pros? or some other good suggestions?
thanks to help a noob out. any help would be appreciated.

a battery life on the short side (2.33 hours from the toshiba site), high non-gaming performance (still very good at running warcraft III and the like), good storage.

I say good deal, I would have advised a Toshiba or a Dell or similar anyway, they make a good keyboard and good general build. (maybe some Asus but I think you have to be careful)

I say decent, but be aware it's a 14" with weak battery life (you'd probably better like a 15.6" with same battery life or a 14" with longer, bigger battery)
I wonder where's the option to refuse windows, such modern laptops are ultra-fast and powerful machines when it comes to running ubuntu or similar.

i have a hp dm3z its really thing and very light. It has a neo x2 1.6ghz and a 3200hd and i added the hd 4330 to it. Battery life wit the ssd is around 3-4 hours depending on what i'm doing , flash videos can knock me down to 1h 20 mins.

You can get the base dm3z for $400ish

YOu should really look into the asus ul80vt. My buddy has it , gets about 10 hours with it. He has the celeron 1.2ghz version .

Its pricy tho at $700ish . But as a student your able to easly bring it to class and almost anywhere and it should be pretty decent with games. I would have bought it , but it came out a few months after what i bought.

still, now that time has been wasted, I wonder if someone ever had the idea of regular size laptops with Atom processors.