How reliable is the string theory?

K.I.L.E.R

Retarded moron
Veteran
Is there any way that it can be proven at all?

With the advance of nanotechnology have our chances of experimenting with these theories improved?

From what was said, string theory is about the universe made up of strings which fit quantum mechanics with general relativity (mixing the big with the small).

Everything is comprised of strings so small that we may never see them or test to see if the theory is correct with our current methods.

Here's some info on it

The problem is more, as far as i understand, that it's impossible to falsify with the technology we have today. Then there is more than 1 string theory too, so which one would be the absolute correct one? They are all correct in theory, but shouldn't be in practice... Right?

Well, I'm no expert on string theories, but nevertheless I'm rather sceptical of them. The idea of inventing a whole slew of extra spatial dimensions simply because they make the maths more elegant doesn't sit well with me. The fact that these extra dimensions are magically unobservable, and hence it's almost impossible to prove they don't exist, is a gift from heaven for any string theorist. It's akin to the multiverse theories -- impossible to disprove, oh how convenient, give me some more research grants.

Anyway, I thought string theories were old hat these days, and all mathematical pranksters *cough* sorry theoretical physicsts had moved on to other stuff.