Xterm and SDK3.0

Discussion in 'CellPerformance@B3D' started by Shai, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. Shai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Fedora Core 7 and Cell SDK v3.0. When I run the system simulator I want to be able to open an xterm window on the host system by issuing the xterm command on the simulated Linux system.

    Here's what I've done so far:

    - ssh'ed into the simulated system from the host system to check if bogus net is set up properly
    - typed 'export DISPLAY=172.20.0.1:0' in the console of the simulated system to get it to send graphical output to the host system
    - executed gdmsetup on the host system and made sure that 'Deny TCP connections to Xserver' isn't checked
    - after that I type 'gdm-restart' to restart the window manager

    So after the the window manager has restarted and I've logged in again, I restart the Cell simulator and type 'xterm'.

    Here's what I get:

    'Warning: This program is an suid-root program or is being run by the root user.
    The full text of the error or warning message cannot be safely formatted
    in this environment. You may get a more descriptive message by running the
    program as a non-root user or by removing the suid bit on the executable.
    xterm Xt error: Can't open display: %s'

    Apparently the warning isn't all that important, but how do I get rid of 'xterm Xt error: Can't open display: %s'?
     
  2. the maddman

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Central California
    Try running "xhost +" on the real linux box to turn of X display authentication.
     
  3. Shai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if my post wasn't clear on that point, but that's exactly what I'm doing :).
     
  4. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
  5. the maddman

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Central California
    I see you turning on connections to GDM, but as far as I know (I don't run Gnome) you still need to tell the X server itself to allow the connection without authenticating.

    Of course, if you can SSH into the system, just open a X term, and use SSH -X and forward X through SSH. That always works great.
     
  6. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    That's what I thought after reading Shai's post too. However he seems to have done it already (perhaps in his profile or rc file)
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...