Xp x86 or x64?

I'm currently choosing an OS for the new computer i'm building, and i figured since it has a Athlon X2 6000+ processor i would be wasting performance by not utelizing it's 64bit capabilities. It will be running mostly Adobe premiere pro and perhaps Sony Vegas, neither of which actually has support for 64bit. Will there be any performance increase from the underlying OS anyway? As you see i'm not very good at this stuff so any tip would be usefull. I didn't post this in the purchase section because i consider it more general software information.

Anyone here that has experiance with Xp pro x64?

If you are going to go 64bit, you should go Vista 64bit.

XP64 is AFAIK mostly unsupported and "not good".

I agree. The question should be XP 32bit or Vista 64bit.

I'm currently choosing an OS for the new computer i'm building, and i figured since it has a Athlon X2 6000+ processor i would be wasting performance by not utelizing it's 64bit capabilities. It will be running mostly Adobe premiere pro and perhaps Sony Vegas, neither of which actually has support for 64bit. Will there be any performance increase from the underlying OS anyway? As you see i'm not very good at this stuff so any tip would be usefull. I didn't post this in the purchase section because i consider it more general software information.

Anyone here that has experiance with Xp pro x64?

Waitaminute... So neither Premiere nor Vegas run in an x64 environment, or they've not been patched to take advantage of >2GB memory addressing? I doubt it's the latter, because I ran Premiere Elements for awhile last year w/2GB RAM & 3GB page file and it easily ate up all my RAM & about half the page file on XP Pro 32.