XGI’s Ambitious Plans

Discussion in 'Beyond3D News' started by Dave Baumann, Oct 19, 2003.

  1. Anonymous

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 1978
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't say i'm too psyched about this one yet... they're launching in November? right? IIRC? and I have yet to see ONE screenshot of it playing a GAME. About the only good news is that they seem to be going about this the right way -- starting at the high end. However, it looks like it will be really expensive... I honestly feel that with ALL design houses, they really need to survive 2 generations to become competitive. 1st-gen tech just almost always sucks. Hopefully, they have the cash-backing to get it right next time, and by then maybe they'll have game support! ^_~
     
  2. ben6

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was hyped about Xabre at first too. When SIS came over to show off Xabre and drop one off (was that really a year ago) they ran 3dmark and Quake 3 in front of me. (Michelle is very nice still :))

    After taking a long hard look at games with Pixel Shaders (Morrowind, 3dmark 2001 build 320 I think, Tiger Woods) it was apparent that I was rather disappointed. Course that review never posted because of extenuating circumstances, but ah well.
     
  3. rwolf

    rwolf Rock Star
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Canada
    I bet they get lots of the low end in Taiwan. (Video card makers)
     
  4. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,321
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Dang it, I just got a press release from XGI but I can't open it as I don't have office installed right now and it's a .doc. :roll:

    Gotta go do an install, more soon.
     
  5. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    hint - look in the press release forum!
     
  6. Anonymous

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 1978
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't Wordpad open .doc files?
     
  7. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,321
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I thanked ya over there, but I'll thank you again here for your kindness.

    Thanks for sharing that Dave, you spared me installing Office this morning. (Now I can put it off 'til I need to make some graphs...probably later this afternoon. :roll: )

    Usually it does, but it crashed when I tried to use it to open up this one and it looked like garbage in notepad. :(

    My 'puters are currently both rigged up for testing and are suffering from a severe lack of tweakage and what I consider necessary utilities, but I figure they should be back up to speed by the weekend. :)
     
  8. Saem

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    6
    There is an application called wordview from MS. It's freely available and it lets you view word documents. Just use the link below...

    Save as this link
     
  9. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,321
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    I'm having some problems with the link... ;)

    I have office, I just haven't installed it since my last re-build. I really will have to install it later to make some graphs, so I figure that'll cover it. :)

    Thanks for the wordview tip though, I will check that out.
     
  10. chavvdarrr

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Sofia, BG
    Last versions of OpenOffice are fine.
     
  11. Anonymous

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 1978
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but if you have MS Office there aren't really many reasons to use OpenOffice (except possibly for the fact that its password protection is miles and away better). An encrypted, password protected swx (or is it sxw?) file is a tough cookie to crack.
     
  12. Anonymous

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 12, 1978
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. cthellis42

    cthellis42 Hoopy Frood
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,890
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Out of my gourd
    Back on topic, there's a nice long article herabouts to chew on until we can actually see some silicon.
     
  14. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    17,321
    Likes Received:
    1,812
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Nothing against that article since it really ain't all that bad, but there isn't anything NEW in it...it's just a summary with all the known info to date in it. :( (It's a good summary, but it's still nothing new. :( )
     
  15. Arun

    Arun Unknown.
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    UK
    I firmly disagree with their conclusion however:

    Hmm, sorry, but NVIDIA has seen 3DFX doing it forever, and they always said "No." - they bought 3DFX, and they're still saying "No" - it ain't a small player who's gonna make them change their mind.

    Although in the longterm, a multichip GPU from NVIDIA is not out of the question at all; I would expect them to operate in a "PPP/VS chip" and a "PS chip" way though - not 2 chips having all the stuff.

    I did hear some stuff according to which the NV30 was originally, for a VERY short period ( read: it was on a wishlist that didn't make it ) - I kinda suspect NVIDIA scrapping the PPP might have something to do with not going multichip though.

    The NV40 won't be multichip AFAIK. The NV50, though, why not! Not that we got much info about it, but the good ole "Full ILDP" sticker :)


    Uttar
     
  16. rwolf

    rwolf Rock Star
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Canada
    I think it costs manufacturers less to produce a single chip. ATI has one set of control logic and multiple pipelines controlled with the same control LOGIC. The 9600 is 75 million transistors and the 9800 is 110+ transistors. It only cost them 35 million transistors to double everything. The XGI chips have to have control logic in both chips.
     
  17. Rugor

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like Abiword too, just used it to write a novel.

    However, I too am more curious than hopeful about XGI. They may make it, and it would be good if they did, but the last two products from either of these teams were the Xabre and the XP4, neither of which really lived up to the hype.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...