xbox/ps3 binaries 32/64bit?

slapnutz

Regular
Are console games written in 32bit or 64bit code?

If its 64bit, why dont we see more multiplaform releases on the PC with 64bit exes?

Can console 64bit code even be compared to PC x64 code in the first place?

I am not a programmer :p

IIRC, the Linux binaries for the PS3 use the 64bit PPC ones, but I haven't used it in a while, so I am not 100% sure.

64bit exes on PC are mostly of no use, because you would a) cut your installed base by more than half and b) the gain is nearly none (I see no difference in performance between HL2 and HL2 64bit)

Game executables for both Xenon and PS3 are 32-bit.

There is one big advantage of x64 on PC that will be the driving force for adoption and that is that on 32-bit even with /LARGEADDRESSAWARE a single process (the game) may only allocate a max of 2 GB of memory, even on a 64-bit OS.

This is a hard limit esp. for game pipelines/editors during development so many developers, us included (DICE), are creating 64-bit versions of our tools as a solution to handle editing & processing of large complex environments. Feels a bit silly to have 4-12 GB of memory in your machine and simply not be able to utilize it as you are still on x86 ;)

Eventually the retail versions of the games will run into this limitation as well and force migration for the high-end to x64. But there will be a long transition period while both x86 and x64 binaries are available before x64 (and 64-bit OS:es) are so widely available that you can support only x64 executables, though I am looking forward to it! If you are a gamer and are buying a new OS now, you would be crazy to buy a 32-bit OS.

On 64-bit Windows the maximum amount of memory a process may allocate is 8 TB which should be enough for a while :)

There is a good article about all of this in MSDN: "64-bit programming for Game Developers"
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb147385.aspx