Worst system design flaws in consoles?

Roly

Newcomer
I was reading over an old post on Slashdot from John Carmack where he details problems doing the Atari Jaguar DOOM port. Anyways, apparently the Jaguar's textured fill-rate could have been tripled by the addition of 2 x 8-byte (64-bit) on-chip buffers... [edit]

"The blitter could do basic texture mapping of horizontal and vertical spans, but because there wasn't any caching involved, every pixel caused two ram page misses and only used 1/4 of the 64 bit bus. Two 64 bit buffers would have easily trippled texture mapping performance. Unfortunate." [JC]

Does anyone else have any candidates for bad architectural decisions (major or minor) that hamstrung a console disproportionately? Given the recent discussions I was thinking something like 4k tmem on the N64 perhaps, but examples from older consoles would be interesting too.

I'd probably say the 1.2gb GS<>EE bus would be #1. I'm no engineer, but I guess asking for double the clock rate or bus width would be out of the question...? IMO, the PS2 would be a beast if it had one of the above.

ps2's underfeatured gpu combined with small amounts of vram(without this prob, the gap between ps2/cube/xbox would be even smaller.).... thankfully that won't happen again.... next time it'll be performance v.s. performance... and an even bigger leap than ever before.

I would say that SFC's CPU (65C816 @ 3.58MHz) wasn't adequate even with the help of co processors. Graphical and sound abilities of Nintendo's 16 bits system were really astonishing but it lacked some horsepower I think.

Dont you think Xbox is one of the best designed consoles ever? :oops: