Windows 11 [2021]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by eastmen, Jun 24, 2021.

  1. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    616
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    If they're observing any sort of rational hardware lifecycle, yes. You don't have to cut the entire enterprise over all at once, you can phase Win11 in with an equipment refresh. Most companies will cycle desktops every four years, some stretch it to five. Laptops are usually on a shorter cycle just because they're typically abused a bit more while traveling.

    If we presume the most recent two years of purchases should be compatible, this would mean the remaining folks who are currently using an older machine may only have to wait until 2024 (for a company stretching to a five year cycle.) That seems an eternity, but in business terms, that's just the lifecycle of a piece of equipment

    Shit man, there are still companies today on Win7 because they waited that long to get off WinXP. :D
     
    pharma and BRiT like this.
  2. PSman1700

    Legend Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    5,506
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    I dont think W10 will be too bad too be left on, seeing it will get the majority of the new DS features.
     
    pharma likes this.
  3. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Interesting Windows 11 info ...
     
    Bludd and PSman1700 like this.
  4. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,196
    Likes Received:
    738
    There is a new 'Win11 optimised' bios for my B550 mobo.
    Out of the box it gives me
    Code:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32> $Win32_DeviceGuard.AvailableSecurityProperties
    2
    3
    4
    5
    7
    8
     
  5. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    2,737
    very strange, i got high cpu usage but the each process' cpu usage didnt add up

    upload_2021-8-17_21-19-55.png
     
  6. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    2,737
  7. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    2,737
    View attachment 5810

    system idle process showing the correct idle cpu percentage

    upload_2021-8-17_21-33-15.png

    and this is one of the most blatant. 100 percent cpu usage despite the processes didnt adds to 100 percent
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,297
    Likes Received:
    8,667
    The more I look at Windows 11, the less I like it. Right click app specific menu items are now nested in a submenu? That's going to be annoying whenever I want to say use WinRAR something using the context sensitive right click menu.

    Can anyone check to see if the task bar is resizable and not just stuck on one "row" of applications?

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    2,737
    yes the taskbar and right click menu is downgraded in W11. have not found a way to upgrade it back to the feature of W10
     
  10. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Looking forward to ISO installations on my older PC's as long as MS figures out receiving security/hardware updates.

    Microsoft to allow Windows 11 to be installed on older PCs through ISOs, but they might not get updates - VideoCardz.com
    August 28, 2021
     
  11. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,523
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    What's the use of TPM2 etc requirements if they would allow ISO and receiving security updates? They should keep to the line they've drawn.
     
    Rootax and BRiT like this.
  12. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,982
    Likes Received:
    3,810
    Throw a bone at the people complaining and say welp you can run it but you wont get support from us.
     
    egoless likes this.
  13. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Doesn't TPM 2.0 prevent having a dual boot, ie Win 11 and Linux?
     
  14. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    2,737
    the cpu usage issue has been fixed since the latest windows update a few days ago. seems they do quickly patch things up
     
  15. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    523
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Do you mean Secure Boot? Some Linux distros have signed bootloaders so they can boot with Secure Boot.
     
    DSoup, Malo and pharma like this.
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    616
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Indeed. Secure boot is probably what is being discussed, and dual boot is indeed possible so long as the operating system(s) in question have signed bootloaders.
     
  17. Per Lindstrom

    Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    56
    Location:
    Sweden
    "In an in-depth interview with Microsoft’s security skipper David Weston, Branscombe reports that many of the bombshell hardware requirements come from enabling the hardware virtualization features called Virtualization-Based Security (VBS) and Hypervisor-Protected Code Integrity (HVCI)."
    ----
    "Microsoft’s own guidance from 2019 said CPUs without the feature (Skylake and older as well as Ryzen 1000) “will rely on an emulation of this feature, called Restricted User Mode, which has a bigger impact on performance.”

    https://www.pcworld.com/article/3623713/why-windows-11-is-leaving-so-many-pcs-behind.html
     
    Lightman and BRiT like this.
  18. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    616
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Good article, and reasonable points IMO. I'm one of the folks who is somewhat guilty of pointing at Intel and accusing them of mostly building the same crap for the last four generations, although I too was keenly aware of all the security and virtualization updates they were making along the way.
     
    Rootax likes this.
  19. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,285
    Likes Received:
    1,729
    Location:
    France
    Not a lot of reviewers took the time to talking about the small (but important ?) changes either...
     
  20. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,499
    Likes Received:
    3,916
    Valorant enforces TPM 2.0 and Secure Boot on Windows 11 PCs - Industry - News - HEXUS.net
    [​IMG]
     
    Per Lindstrom and Malo like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...