Will Sprites Return?

I've been playing a lot of older games lately and especially three adventure games I have fond memories of. Dust: A tale of the wired west, Titanic Adventure out of time and Starship Titanic. These games were made between 1995 and 1998 and used sprite based engines. I've always loved these games, not just because I played them and enjoyed them, but because they were stunningly beautiful at the time of their conception. Since I started playing them again some time has passed hehe, they aren't as beautiful as they once were, especially the two first in my list, but they are still quite playable.

Will we ever see a comeback of sprite based games? Considering the power and rendering techniques we have today some pretty stunning games could probably be made and run on rather low end systems. Sprites are still used and too good effect (Far Cry f.ex.), so the "art" of sprites has gone forward too. The use would be limited since sprites don't look good when you change angles up or down (or is there a way around this nowadays?). High resolution animated sprites for characters and environments with a lot of interactivity would make for a rather interesting adventure game me thinks. So is there a chance for it's return on center stage?

I got to thinking about it after seeing some ZBrush renders of Salvador Dali and playing Starship Titanic. A normal computer would die from the load of just rendering the head, using sprites it'd just be an animated image. I could only imagine adventure games with static camera (no up or down movement) to use such a 2.5D sprite engine though.

Sprites could return.

For example, you could render (or raytrace, or raycast, etc) into a sprite cache and billboard the those sprites onto the screen.

One problem though, Z overlap.