Will Sony PS4 support FreeSync? *spawn*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by mpg1, Apr 28, 2018.

  1. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    In that DF video Rich mentions that there shouldn't be any reason why PS4 couldn't implement it as well. Wonder if Sony will bother?
     
  2. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    London
    PS4 outputs display port then an internal convertor changes it to hdmi, this is how base PS4 got HDR. Will this programmable convertor be able to deal with VRR?
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,031
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Is it the same with the Pro?
     
  4. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Is that the case in the slim model as well...?
     
  5. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    London
    I have not seen anything on this, however the SDK leak may have that info if you are in possession. I think it's unlikely they would alter the setup unless they had reason to, but cost saving is a possibility
     
  6. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,174
    Location:
    La-la land
    Look at a teardown of the hardwares. If you can eyeball the HDMI converter chip in the new revisions, then it's there. Otherwise it has been eliminated...
     
    turkey likes this.
  7. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    627
    Location:
    London
    There is a Panasonic hdmi encoder on the Pro motherboard just the same as the base model, part numbers differ very slightly on the sample I looked at. Assume the same functionality available across both. Does not rule FreeSync in or out at this point.
     
    Grall, BRiT and ToTTenTranz like this.
  8. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    473
    I'm not sure this statement is correct. There are over 12 revisions to the PS3 controller, for example, and as far as I can tell most of the revisions are just because. There are more than a few PS4 power supplies. I've seen 3 or 4 that are incompatible with each other because they have ports in different spots mostly. Electronically they do vary, but it's a fraction of an amp or volt from model to model. I'm doubtful that any of them would be outside that needs of any of the motherboard revisions. Sony likes to re-engineer things because they like to engineer things. So I guess that's a reason, but it isn't exactly a justification.

    But I do believe that all versions of the PS4 use the HDMI encoder chip.
     
    Grall likes this.
  9. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    396
    They like cost cutting. Even pennies. Sony have removed 3D PS logo from slim and HDD LED later even.
     
  10. see colon

    see colon All Ham & No Potatos
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    473
    Yes, but sometimes they arrive back where they started. For example, my example of them having multiple versions of the PS3 controller, the way they connect the conductive membrane to the PCB goes from being a simple foam block that presses the contacts on the membrane and PCB together. That might not be very descriptive if you've never taken them apart, but if you look at a teardown online you will see that's how most of them are. Some of them use a locking slot type connector. They switched back to the foam block by the end. They also use the foam block on Dual Shock 4s and Dual Shock 2s. Except for a few models that don't. There's no way the locking slot costs less than the foam block, but they switched to it and then back to the foam block. Some models of the dual shock 4 use 2 conductive membranes with two connectors. No way that's cheaper.

    Sometimes they make changes that are obvious cost reductions. Other times they solve problems. But sometimes... Well it seams like just because.
     
    Grall likes this.
  11. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    396
    Maybe they also make slightly different versions for different factories.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...