Will Metal Gear 4 really run at 1080p 60fps

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Butta, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. Butta

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you think that there is any chance in hell given the quality of graphics shown for Metal Gear Solid 4 (PS3) that it will run at 60fps at 1080p. I personally think that the fill-rate and video memory limit the PS3 too much to achieve this but would like to hear what everyone else thinks.

    PS the reason I am curious is that 1080p 60fps seems to be the goal for the team.

    Link: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/844/844078p1.html
     
  2. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Highly doubtful. Most games to date have trouble holding anywhere close to 60 fps at 720p.
     
  3. one

    one Unruly Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    167
    Location:
    Minato-ku, Tokyo
    May be something like 1280x1080 w/ 2xAA.
     
  4. Butta

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone think that this goal to achieve 1080p at 60fps is what is limiting texture quality... cause it seems to be below what I expected from this game.
     
  5. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really doubt that they can achieve 1080p/60fps most likely 720/60, there could be some hope of 1080/30 maybe, because the game's graphics aren't really that great but even 1080/30 i would think its hard, I might be completely mistaken though.
     
  6. Blade47167

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Graphics aren't whats selling this game to me anyway. The moment I saw the Kojima play video where he drops onto his back and drops the guys on the roof while moving backwards on his back up to a stone wall then tossing a grenade over I was just like :shock:
     
  7. V3

    V3
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,304
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think it will be upscaled 1080p just like GT5P. And mostly 60 fps. But There isn't like there are tons of characters or things in MGS scenario at given time. It deals with small area at a given time, so I don't see why not. It just need to have a good streaming engine to deal with memory disadvantage of the higher resolution.
     
  8. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah the game play is looking amazing
     
  9. MasaC

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    7
    1080p could mean anyone of the following resolutions; 960x1080, 1280x1080, 1440x1080, 1600x1080 and not just 1920x1080 on the PS3.

    They could very well render at a resolution below 1920x1080 and then use the vertical scaler.

    If I'm not mistaken 960x1080 only takes a little more fillrate than 1280x720. They could also possibly go with 1280x1080 at 60 fps just like GT5 Prologue.
     
  10. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    1280X1080 + 2X MSAA and over 40 fps is basically good enough for me.
     
  11. Galduta

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    7
    What is the method for measure of the FPS of these games?
     
  12. _phil_

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,659
    Likes Received:
    13
    GT5 isn't upscaled.And Masac is right.
     
  13. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    But GT5 Prologue most definetly is upscaled from 1280x1080.

    I'm cool with 1280x1080 though. Especially in a racing game those extra lines really do add something substantial.

    For MGS4 I don't think I would mind 1280x720p at all. In an age where a very sizable number of games, even AAA ones, are running at sub 720p resolutions. Getting it running smoothly at 720p while still looking as good as we have seen in trailers etc would make me quite content.
     
  14. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    One more thing about upscalling. One small advantage to upscaling on the PS3 in video memory is that you can overlay your HUD graphics in the full native resolution.

    For example, the prefered rendering mode of VF5 is 720p. And the 1080p mode is upscaled. But the HUD is pixel perfect in that mode. Going back to 720p on a big screen makes the HUD look blurry after getting used to the 1080p mode.
     
  15. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    eyeometer i belive :p i think i rather see a game in 1280 x 720p than 960 x 1080p

    inefficient you know that VF5 is not 720p but 1024 x 1024p right?
     
  16. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    You cannot display 1024 lines in 720p mode. Thats why the HUD looks better in 1080p mode.

    What they are trying to say is that internally it is rendered at 1024x1024 then scalled back down for some SS AA and displayed at 720p.
     
  17. Hazuki Ryu

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah i understand i was just confused when you said 720p was the preferred mode.
     
  18. Farid

    Farid Artist formely known as Vysez
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,844
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Paris, France
    No. I'll say that it will support a 1080p output, but the game will render a lower resolution backbuffer (one amongst the various *x1080 mixed modes probably). And I wouldn't bet on 60 fps neither.
    The game lacks of competent detail texturing. It has a too basic approach to texturing and thus lacks the detail fidelity one could expect from a high profile title. It also depends on the nature of their texture streaming technology.

    Speaking of texture streaming technology, that reminds me of a good TomF's article on a texture memory saving technique I read just the other day.
     
  19. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    280
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    Haven't 2/3 (MGS2 and MGS1) of the past MGS games been 60FPS?.
     
  20. Megadrive1988

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    242
    1080p @ 60fps is possible, but that would severely limit the graphical complexity, shader, textures, lighting, effects, etc that are possible.

    better to go with 720p @ 60fps. even then, the graphic complexity that could be displayed is still limited.

    60fps is important though -- the original realtime trailer from TGS 2005 was 60fps.

    if it came down to 60fps *or* 1080p, I'd take the higher framerate.

    it's a pity Sony & Nvidia limited RSX to 8 ROPs,
    128-bit bus (okay 2x 128-bit busses but only one directly to graphics memory) and no EDRAM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...