What are you playing now?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by digitalwanderer, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,993
    Likes Received:
    3,243
    Flaming Cliffs 2 is for Flaming Cliffs 1 not Lomac
     
  2. poopypoo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Our primary PC at home is sans graphics card these days, so I've been using it to play Princess Maker 2 whilst reading the web on my laptop lately. I had to bring it up so someone else could enjoy my oddity...
     
  3. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    259
    Well FC2 requires LOMAC, not FC1, which I don't have at all.
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,993
    Likes Received:
    3,243
    Seems a bit ambiguous
    From the FC2 faq

    Q: Will my Flaming Cliffs 1.12 missions work with Flaming Cliffs 2.0?

    A: Due to a change in the world location and mission editor, they will not. However, when installing the upgrade you have the option to create both Flaming Cliffs 1.12 and Flaming Cliffs 2.0 parallel installs. Flaming Cliffs 1.12 and the upgraded Flaming Cliffs 2.0 will not be online compatible.

    Q: If I install the Flaming Cliffs 2.0 upgrade to an existing copy of Flaming Cliffs, will I still need the original Flaming Cliffs CD to launch it and still go through activation?

    A: No, only the Flaming Cliffs 2.0 protection system would be used.


    Edit: Its not until you read near the end of the faq that its expained (if you only read the first half it gives the impression fc is needed)

    Q: What would be the Flaming Cliffs 2 upgrade paths?

    A: FC2 can be installed over any installation of Lock On, with or without Flaming Cliffs. FC2 is a separate install and does not overwrite your previous game(s). So, your options are either Lock On + Flaming Cliffs unofficial add-on (you would not have to activate) + Flaming Cliffs 2.0 upgrade or Lock On + Flaming Cliffs 2.0.

    In some cases, it may be a good idea to fully uninstall your previous game (back up whatever you need first), reboot the PC and perform a clean installation of Lock On prior to installing FC2.

    http://lockon.co.uk/index.php?end_pos=1849&scr=default
     
  5. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    259
    Yeah, it is somewhat ambiguous on Eagle Dynamics website. When I saw it on Direct2Drive randomly (I had no idea a there was a second FC at all), I made sure to see what it required assuming it only needed the original LOMAC.
     
  6. woundingchaney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    AvP
    Lost Planet 2
    FO:NV
    Arcania
     
  7. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    Company of Heroes: Online.. still..

    it helps when colleagues and friends team up, but the game is getting deeper and more competitive when you hit the higher levels..

    Still, best of all, you can stick to the free to play model and beat paying players, or higher ranked players etc.
     
  8. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,228
    Likes Received:
    2,180
    I bought Radeon 6870, and traditionaly the first game that i play after any big upgrade is Crysis. :D And i enjoy it every time.
     
  9. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,993
    Likes Received:
    3,243
    Just finished Darksiders quite enjoyed it apart from one level where you have to align beams my god was that tedious
     
  10. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    So it is worthwhile? I have it on my list of games to get when they go on sale on Steam. But I was fearful it was suffering from terminal consolitis.
     
  11. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,993
    Likes Received:
    3,243
  12. MrGaribaldi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In transit
    Just bought Worms:Reloaded and gifted it to a few friends since it was on sale on steam.
    Not perfect, but a lot of fun playing custom games with friends. And the devs claim that by selling it directly through Steam without an extra distributor that they will listen closely to what their customers says. So hopefully they will fix the minor problems it suffers from.
     
  13. The549

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    norcal
    you know what, all of a sudden i got real sick of having to do some difficult crap to make stalker clear sky work, but....i think this game is just about had it. i have uncomplete-able missions from freedom and duty, and now i am blocked by guys in a corridor before an emission; i can map hack past them only to die in the entrance of cordon base (after a constant run with energy drinks), or get to the other safe place on the other map; however bandits close the door just before i get in. which, if i did, i'd have to live through about 8 guys shooting at me point blank.

    ....but still, i bought cop

    anyone know a god mode cheat?
     
  14. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    X3: Reunion. IIRC I got about 100 mods/scritps installed + bonus pack. So awesome simulated living world. This game is pure definition of hardcore sim.
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,993
    Likes Received:
    3,243
    Actually its not it simulates space flight and spacecraft very badly

    Independence War (slight pause to allow b3d readers to bow in reverence at its greatness) modeled ship systems much better and had a proper Newtonian flight model although it lacked a gravity simulation
     
  16. Otto Dafe

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    59
    Hey man, I'm thinking about getting back into it. I have X3 gold, so I don't know if I should start with Terran Conflict or not. I never feel like I truly got my empire rolling in Reunion, so I'll probably go back--do you see any pros/cons between the two. Also, what are some of the best, most compatible mods? Bonus pack is a given. The two major content mods I'm looking at are X-tended (of course) and Transcendental, which I expect are mutually exclusive. Do you know of any good trade/empire management mods I should have?

    @Davros: I think he may have meant in terms of economy and factions. I do recall inertia being a factor in the X games, but I think they normalized it to max velocity or something, e.g. you could power out of any drift. Does that sound right?
     
  17. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Oh the memories :smile:

    Nothing like taking your first M2 out for a spin :twisted:
     
  18. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    You may as well go ahead with Terran Conflict. It's basically X3:R + lots of stuff from Xtended (the awesome Paranid Deimos comes to mind) and new sectors.

    As for trade scripts, Economy and Supply Trader is a huge win. Check out the other stuff that Lucike guy has done, it's all gold.
     
  19. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,098
    Likes Received:
    6,454
    Yeah, have to give I-War the nod there for the most complete space flight sim. X3 isn't shabby in second though.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  20. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    All these space "sims" are silly in the context of even basic Newtonian physics. That said, a truly accurate space combat simulator probably wouldn't be very fun for most people. Two shisp fly past each other at combined .2c, automated targeting systems exchange fire in a microsecond, one or both are dead :razz:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...