What are you playing now?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by digitalwanderer, Apr 30, 2007.

  1. bitwise xor

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    3
    I took 17 years worth of pc game boxes to the paper dump the other day....it felt good.
     
  2. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    I'm playing 'Cursed Treasure : Dont Touch My Gems'. Very addictive and free flash tower defense game with rpg elements (levelling, skill buffs). Not sure about whether to link to it, but it should be very easy to find.
     
  3. woundingchaney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Well I would be playing Gothic 4, but the NA release has been pushed back to the 19th.
     
  4. N00b

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    I installed it yesterday and performance is abysmal, much worse than the demo. There are rumors about a performance patch coming today.
     
  5. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Does the full game support AA?
     
  6. N00b

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    I haven't checked yet. I'm not touching this game without a patch. The performance is really that horrible on my system (AMD X2 2400, 2GB, Vista, GTX 285).
     
  7. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Do you mean the Athlon X2 BE-2400? If so, that is 500MHz shy of the minimum spec...

    Also, you probably need more RAM. GPU should be more than fine.
     
  8. N00b

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    Demo was running ok. No issues. Developers said if the demo runs ok, game will, too. So, let's see.
     
  9. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    You could get a Phenom X3 715 for $85.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103679

    No offense, but complaining about performance when you are clearly not meeting the minimum requirement is not likely to accomplish much.
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,972
    Likes Received:
    3,217
    Nooo.......
    That makes the Gaming Gods Cry
     
  11. N00b

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    114
    Which minimum requirements are we talking about here? The minimum requirements that were communicated a while ago and that are printed on back of the german collector's edition box and that my system does meet or are we talking about the the minimum requirements that are printed on the back of the german regular edition that no one knew about beforehand and that my system does not meet?

    Anyways, a hotfix came out last night and performance went waaay up, from low single digits to mid-twenties, I would say. No sign of AA, though. Edit: I'm playing @1600x1200, all settings high.
     
    #2051 N00b, Oct 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2010
  12. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    The requirements listed on their webpage: http://www.arcania-game.com/?lang=en&ID=1840

    Looking into it a little more, I see some places listing a 3.2GHz P4 or Athlon 3500+ as the minimum. And then Steam has something different altogether:

    But I would assume the specs listed on their webpage are correct.
     
  13. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    259
    Finally got me Flaming Cliffs 2 for LOMAC. It's finally nice to get some LOMAC gameplay that runs at more than 30 FPS.
     
  14. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    LOMAC?
     
  15. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    can you google?

    Lock-On Modern Air Combat
     
  16. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I usually do, but A. LOMAC is a weird acronym, and B. My google-fu is very weak. What other people can find in minutes, even seconds, I never find.

    Nice way to be a jerk, though! :thumbsup:
     
  17. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Turns out that this one happened to be both of the first two links on Google ;) So yeah, neliz was being quite the jerk, but still, you could have gotten it!
     
  18. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    If I wanted to be really sarcastic, i would've use lmgtfy


    I know lomac, but i completely forgot what it stood for, so I googled lomac and the description already told what I wanted to know.
     
  19. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    Wow, I'm shocked. Usually, due to my exceedingly poor luck, it's like the 1,000th entry or something like that!
     
  20. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,928
    Likes Received:
    230
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I do have to admit, I've had horrible times finding a number of acronyms on Google myself. Usually my best bet for the harder-to-find ones is Wikipedia, which often has a "disambiguation" page.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...